Add a little Beautiful to your dinner!

CITRUS-GLAZED SALMON WITH AVOCADO SALSA

Impress someone with very little effort with this gorgeousness!  Fast and easy this dish has the lightest flavors, but they all work to make it spicy-sweet and the salmon buttery-smooth.  If you can, using fresh salmon with this is the best.

(The only reason my salsa looks sooooo gorgeous is because all I could get my hands on was a semi-ripe avocado!  Ripe ones are far better, but can make it slightly “muddy”.  Mix the remaining ingredients and then gently stir in the avocado…beautiful!!)

~~~~

 

.

.

Four 6-ounce fresh salmon filets
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
4 tablespoons fresh orange juice
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon allspice
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Salsa:
1 large avocado, diced
1/2 cup diced red onion
1 orange, diced
1 jalapeño pepper, seeded, ribs removed, and diced OR 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
3 tablespoons fresh orange juice
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, minced
Kosher salt and black pepper to taste

.

In a baking dish combine the olive oil and the orange juice.  Lay salmon in it and turn to coat.  In a small bowl combine the salt, onion powder, paprika, black pepper, allspice, and cayenne pepper.  Sprinkle over each side of salmon filets.  Set aside to marinate for 30 minutes.

In a small bowl combine the avocado, red onion, orange, jalapeno, and cilantro.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Cover and chill.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high and lightly coat with olive oil or vegetable cooking spray.  Add the salmon and cook for 4-5 minutes; turn and cook on the other side for 2-3 minutes or until fish flakes easily.  Serve with chilled avocado salsa.  Makes 4  (or 8 Weight Loss Surgery) servings.

Per regular-sized serving:  412 Cal; 42 g Protein, 20 g Tot Fat, 8 g Carb; 2 g Fiber; 4 g Sugar; 688 mg Sodium

Per WLS Serving: 206 Cal; 21 g Protein; 10 g Tot Fat; 4 g Carb; 1 g Fiber; 2 g Sugar; 344 mg Sodium

36 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my word….that might just be the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. 🙂

  2. CaSaundra says:

    Love the colors and ingredients in this recipe. I bet the flavors are the best!

  3. Alice says:

    Both the salsa and the fish look incredible – I’ll have to give this a shot next time I have some salmon….

  4. takethecake says:

    Oh Boy!

  5. That looks so delish! I’ve been wondering what to have for dinner since breakfast (Like a typical food addict) !
    Now I know! I’m definitely trying that recipe out!

  6. Aggie says:

    What a beautiful healthy dinner! I’m so happy to have come across your site while stumbling! Can’t wait to check out more!

  7. That looks so good, I don’t even eat seafood (Yea I know there’s something inherently wrong with me.). I think I need a chef like you 😛

  8. I just came across your blog and love it! Everything sounds so good and still healthy. Can’t wait to try some recipes!!

  9. WOW that looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Kathryn says:

    I LOVE salmon- that looks delish! My absolute favorite salmon dish is linguine with smoked salmon. It’s definitely not healthy, but it tastes amazing!

  11. Arkay says:

    Made this for the mother-in-law’s birthday dinner tonight. She thought it was great. The salmon spices are excellent by themselves (we grilled the salmon, by the way), but with the salsa, wow. Just wow.

  12. HollyC says:

    We made this and it was great! I was the only one who ate the salsa, and it was exceptional! The citrus flavor for the salmon really enhanced the salmon flavor!

  13. fionagold says:

    Oh goodness! I just made salmon and salsa for dinner and was about to post it to my blog, but I think I’m too embarassed now. This looks fantastic. I might just link you, and show people what it should be like…

  14. Cook is Good says:

    That looks so good as well. I really like your recipes, Giorgia

  15. Lauren says:

    Love this recipe! I’m making it for the second time tonight. I was looking at the calories per serving-what is a WLS serving? 206 calories for one filet and the avacado salsa sounds to good to be true!

    1. Linda says:

      WLS is short for weight loss surgery – I started out creating recipes for folks who’d had the surgery (as I did 8 years ago). And most of my readers – well, ALL of my readers at first! – were post ops so I gave the nutritional stats for them.

      So a regular serving would be 1 filet and twice the calories. Still not BAD, I hope!

      I’ll go in and clarify that to make it more plain. I’m so glad you found a new favorite!

  16. Wendy says:

    I just made this tonight. I omitted the cayenne and jalapeño because of my kids. It was fantastic! They devoured the avocado salad and ate half a fillet each (they are four, so this is quite impressive for them). Thanks! We will definitely be making this again.

  17. Denise says:

    Fantastic Salmon recipe. This is so awsome, I love it!
    It’s another keeper Linda.
    Thanks a bunch. 😉

  18. luahfontana says:

    I just made this and OMG. Amazing. It’s not just beautiful it’s delicious!!! The salsa tastes really great with the salmon, what a perfect combination!
    Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  19. Just made this for dinner. I don’t usually eat salmon, but this was fantastic. Two thumbs up!!! A must try…..delicious combination.

  20. Jennifer Jenrette says:

    OH WOW! This was absolutely delicious…I made it for dinner tonight and the flavors were so fresh and bold…I easily could’ve had two servings, but based on the fact that I’ve been overindulging the last couple days on other wonderful recipes of yours, I managed to be happy just eating what was on my plate! This is maybe my favorite salmon dish yet! Thank you so much for such fantastic recipes! My husband loved this as well and he’s not super easy to please when there’s no “real” meat on his plate!

  21. KT says:

    I made this tonight to change up how it worked as salmon tacos. It was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

  22. Marijke says:

    Made this for my parents tonight and it was fantastic!! Especially loved the marinade on the salmon. Will definitely be using this again once the weather warms up in Australia! Very quick & very easy.

  23. Erin says:

    Just made this tonight. It was incredible! The fruit salsa is genius. Hubs and I were laughing about how fish has become so hum-drum for us, until we tried this recipe and could not stop talking about how delicious it was. Thank you for a fantastic recipe! We will be making this often!

  24. Haydee says:

    Will try this!!

  25. Deidra says:

    My best friend and I made this tonight and switched mango instead of the orange and omg it was fabulous! definitely a repeat recipe! 🙂

  26. Just looking at salmon makes me so happy, and these photos are no different! 🙂 Makes me want to eat dinner all over again!

  27. robyn yoder says:

    Just made this tonight and it was awesome! A new favorite.

  28. J. Fife says:

    This was so-o-o-o-ooooooo good and had it again the following day! Love it.

    1. Linda says:

      I’m so glad you loved it!! Makes my day!!

Leave a comment