Chinese Cabbage Salad…Skinny-fied!

BLOGS

CHINESE CABBAGE SALAD

Well, somebody had to do it…poor little thing was drowning in oil, salt and sugar.

I kept all the same flavors, but reduced the oil by almost ALL (the original recipe called for 1 cup…AKKKK) and used a whole lot less salt.

Still super crunchy and flavorful, but now lightly dressed instead of drenched.

It’s so good and always a hit!

~~~~

 

 

1 1/2 tablespoons butter

1/3 cup sesame seeds

1/3 cup sliced almonds

1 package ramon noodles, broken – minus the spice packet

1 small head  of cabbage, chopped or sliced fine

1 bunch green onions, sliced – green parts only

4 tablespoons Splenda

1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper

4 tablespoons canola oil or olive oil

1 1/2 teaspoons salt – or to taste

7 tablespoons rice wine vinegar – original

In a frying pan, over medium heat, melt the butter; saute the sesame seeds, almonds, and broken ramen noodles until golden brown.  Set aside to cool completely.

In a large bowl combine the cabbage and green onions.  In a blender or food processor emulsify the Splenda, pepper, oil, salt, and rice wine vinegar until creamy.  Pour over the cabbage and toss.  Add the sesame mixture and toss.  Add more salt to taste, if necessary.  Serve immediately.   Makes a TON!   (Okay, okay…I actually did the stats for 10 servings.)

Per Serving: 97 Calories; 2 g Protein; 8 g Tot Fat; 6 g Carb; 2 g Fiber; 2 g Sugar; 255 mg Sodium

BLOGS109

 

 

 

 

38 Comments Add yours

  1. Melynda says:

    Looks good! I love this salad.

  2. Nicole says:

    OK, I have literally been drooling over all your pics on Healthy Yum and I just had to let you know. You are awesome! And using ramen noodles in your Chinese Cabbage Salad? Genius. Thanks for all your great recipes!

    -Nicole

  3. Laura says:

    I love this salad! I’ve been making it for years. If you want to make it even lighter, you can just brown the noodles and almonds by toasting them on a baking sheet rather than frying in butter. Tastes just as good!

  4. Erica says:

    What a great recipe!

  5. Kevin says:

    That salad looks good! What an interesting way to use ramen noodles.

  6. gaga says:

    I love the crunch you get in salads from ramen. This looks like a great salad, especially with the changes you made. Yum!

  7. Cheryl says:

    I cant wait to make this! I love all your recipes!

  8. Jen says:

    I am trying to eat healthier. Your salad looks so very good! I also have a fresh cabbage that would be perfect. Thanks!

  9. ziabaki says:

    I love this! I just harvested a HUMONGOUS cabbage from the garden and a part of it will be used for this. I too have a blog that I lighten things up. You’ll have to pop over for a visit. Nice pictures BTW!

  10. michele says:

    My husband who can be really picky enjoyed this salad. I did add some canned chicken (didn’t have fresh) for more protein and a 1 meal dish. I also added a few dried cranberries. Very very Yummy!

  11. Paula says:

    Wow… Stumbled upon your recipes last week and made my first two tonight for dinner. Orange Chicken, Rice (for the family) and this salad… OMG, awesome!!! My husband loves it and so do our teenage boys… Can’t wait to try the next things on the list… Just waiting on the Whey Low Granules to arrive!

  12. melpy says:

    We make one like this with napa cabbage and it indeed contains tons of fat, butter, oil, and sugar. I’m going to use your recipe to overhaul our recipe. Thanks!

  13. Yvonne aka rts_girl says:

    YUMO!!! my all time favorite foods!!!

  14. rachael says:

    We have eliminated all need for butter in our recipe. Toasting the slivered almonds and ramen noodles for 10 minutes, then adding the sesame seeds for the last 10 minutes, all done in a 350 degree oven. No mess, no butter!

    1. Linda says:

      GOOD IDEA!!
      I’m such a butter-hog. I love it, and need to learn to use less and less. (Actually I DO…compared to pre-eating-better!)

  15. Allison says:

    What would you consider the “serving size” of 1 serving for this?

    thanks 🙂 SOunds amazing!!

    1. Linda says:

      Thanks…and yes, it is! I would say about 3/4 of a cup.

  16. Just found this via Pinterest. It looks really good. Love that it’s healthy, but yet is packed full of flavor! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  17. This looks amazing! This is one of my fave foods so I am very excited to try a much skinnier version of it!

  18. Mimi says:

    I made this tonight, along with the Quinoa Burgers. So good!! My Husband, who I never should have told I was making a Vegetarian meal, thought it was amazing. Thank you so much!

  19. Robin says:

    This is a great light version of the old classic. I just wish there was a crunchie replacement for the ramen noodles. They are full of fat as they are deep fried before packaging.

  20. I was talking to a friend yesterday about making this.. I’ll let her know about this recipe! Now I am really drooling! lol

  21. Michelle A. says:

    Looking at the recipe, 1 Tablespoon of ground black pepper seems like a lot. Is that the correct amount?

  22. chris says:

    we love this…better than fattier version. pepper is awesome. We skinnified it further by toasting the noodles and nuts in the oven – no butter and just as good

    1. chris says:

      by the way, we also used pre-shredded cole slaw mix to make it easier. i am not always a big fan of fresh ground pepper so i used the ground black pepper in a can. Yesterday we had no more almonds or sesame seeds so we used walnuts and another time we used pecans. it is always delish….

  23. TracyT says:

    Stumbled across your recipe on Pintrest. I needed the ratios for making a healthy version of oriental dressing. Thank you! I also added some dashes of soy sauce and 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. To the cabbage I added red and green pepper and water chestnuts. I like to make my salad the day before and( if I can manage to leave it alone ) serve it the next day. I reserve the noodle mixture and fold it in right before serving.

    1. TracyT says:

      P.S. I also added 2 finely chopped chicken breasts. Complete dinner in a bowl!

  24. Molfaye says:

    I made this tonight. It was amazing! I used half a table spoon of white ground pepper and it was still a bit much for me, but I will definitely make this over and over. Terrific!

  25. Js says:

    How is this “skinified” with the noodles left in the salad.

  26. Do you have any recommendations for replacing the Ramen noodles? I need to make a gluten free version. I don’t think it would be the same without the crunch of the noodles.

    1. Linda says:

      I’m with ya…the crunchy noodles are fab! I’m wondering if rice noodles would work – I’ve never not cooked them – they may be inedible that way.

      1. Jill says:

        Same here. I guess I’ll just have to try some…maybe in the oven and sautéed.

  27. Linda says:

    Wow–just made this and it is so good! I love that it has been modified to be healthier.

  28. Sandra says:

    I just had this for lunch. Fabulous, just a bit sweet for us so NEXT time I will put cranberries or raisins in place of the sugar. I will definitely be making this again.
    Thank you 😊

  29. Joan says:

    I really appreciate the “lightened up” version of the dressing…3/4 to 1 cup of oil is way too much for one bag of cole slaw mix. What didn’t work for me was the amount of pepper – one Tbsp was way too much. Made the dressing again with just a little pepper and it suited my taste much better. Thanks 🙂

Leave a comment