A great alternative to Garlic Mashed Potatoes

WhtBnGarlic11 wm

MASHED WHITE BEANS WITH GARLIC & ROSEMARY

I’m pretty sure I got the inspiration for this from a blog, but I can’t for the life of me remember where.  If it was yours…THANKS (and let me know)!

This tastes just like garlic mashed potatoes.  It’s creamy, salty, garlicky – the rosemary gives it a wonderful scent.  And it’s full of fiber, and won’t spike your blood sugar like white potatoes do.

This would be easy to double, and you will definitely want to if  you’re cooking for a family.

~~~~

 

.

3 tablespoons olive oil
2 large cloves garlic, peeled, but left whole
1 sprig fresh rosemary
Two 14-ounce cans Cannellini beans, drained, rinsed
1/4-1/3 cup chicken broth
2 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Kosher salt & black pepper
Olive oil

In a large skillet heat olive oil over medium-low heat. Add whole garlic cloves and rosemary sprig. Sauté until garlic is soft and rosemary is crispy. Smash garlic with the back of a wooden spoon. Remove rosemary, slide off the leaves and mince them; return to skillet. Add beans and heat through, stirring and roughly mashing with the spoon, adding chicken broth until desired consistency. Stir in Parmesan, salt, and black pepper. Place in a serving bowl and drizzle with additional olive oil. Serve hot. Makes 6  servings.

Per Serving: Calories 169; Protein 8 g; Fat 5 g; Carbs 13 g; Sugar 0 g; Sodium 227 mg

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Carrie says:

    What an awesome idea! I love it!

  2. sonya says:

    This is right up my alley! Thank you. I’ve bookmarked your blog. I’ll be making this soon!

  3. Amy says:

    Linda…that looks awesome and totally something I would love! When I saw the picture I immediately thought it was mashed cauliflower, which I like but am a little sick of! This I will try soon!

  4. Veronica says:

    I have to try this!

  5. Rachel says:

    Made this with the cheeseburger pie for dinner. These are awesome! Everyone loved them and I really felt like it was mashed potato-ey enough to satisfy a craving!

  6. Kathryn says:

    I make my mashed white beans a bit differently. You have to be a garlic lover to like mine, but they are great.
    In 3 tbsp of olive oil, I cook four cloves of minced garlic and add one green onion. I cook it on low until the garlic begins to turn golden. I add the garlic and green oinion to the potatoes with a dash of onion powder, salt and pepper. I also add 2 tbsp of sour cream. It’s delicious… If you love garlic like I do.

  7. I made these tonight and they came out great! Thanks for the great recipe!

  8. My daughter does this with cauliflower! 😉 YUM

  9. John Davern says:

    This is word-for-word from http://www.bariatriceating.com, but it is no longer posted there.

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, it used to be on BE…I was the Creative Food person for Susan Maria for several years and that is my recipe. A lot of them on my blog are from that time, but I can assure you that they are my property…and SM would concur.

  10. Carrie says:

    How long will this keep?

    1. Linda says:

      I would say at least 5-6 days, covered in fridge. OR freeze for later!

Leave a comment