Low Carb Crepes…a great stand-in for a whole lotta stuff…

Blog373!!

Crepes

(Low-carb, higer-protein)

I use these in so many more ways than just “crepes”.   In both sweet or savory recipes, as wraps, tortillas, noodles – they are a great way to still make those dishes you love without the unneeded carbs.

Don’t be afraid of making crepes – and you don’t need a special pan.  The first one may flop, but you’ll get the hang of it quickly.   Then you can use them for enchiladas, burritos, lasagna, sandwiches, or just roll up with a sprinkle of Cinnamon-Splenda inside.  They’re a very versatile thing to keep on hand.  (They also freeze great.  Just put a piece of waxed paper, or plastic wrap between each one.)

You can add 1 tablespoon Splenda, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, or sweet spices for a sweet version.  Or herbs and other spices for savory.

These are very tender and will be more moist than regular crepes.  They are what I use in my Chicken Pot Pie with Crepes, which has been very popular.

~~~~

1/2 cup ricotta cheese (stats are for Part-Skim / lowfat)

4 eggs

1/4 cup flour

3 tablespoons milk

Pinch of salt

.

In a medium bowl beat the Ricotta with the eggs. Beat in the flour, salt, milk.   Allow to sit for 15 minutes.

Heat an 8-inch nonstick skillet over medium-low heat. Coat with vegetable cooking spray when hot. Pour in 2 tablespoons of batter and immediately swirl the pan to coat the entire surface in a thin layer. Allow to cook, without turning, until completely done. The top should be no longer shiny and when you touch it it’s not wet. The bottom will be have a very slight golden color. If it’s too dark, lower the heat.

(If you are a new crepe-maker, these can be next to impossible to flip and they don’t need to be.) Gently loosen the edges with a spatula and slide out of the pan onto a plate. Very lightly spray the top with vegetable spray – this way you can stack them on top of each other.

Lightly coat the pan with cooking spray before each crepe. Proceed with above directions until batter is gone. Allow the crepes to cool to room temperature and then wrap the plate tightly with plastic wrap. These keep well in the fridge – unfilled – for several days.

Since these are so moist, letting them sit uncovered for a half hour or so will help them get that dry, ‘lacy’ edge.

Makes approx 12 crepes.

Per Crepe:   Calories 57; Protein 4 g; Fat 3 g; Carb 3 g; Sugar 1 g; Sodium 35 mg

Blog324

60 Comments Add yours

  1. Tammy says:

    You are saving my life – literally! Thank you!

  2. Amy says:

    I have GOT to try this recipe, Linda. Thanks for posting it!

  3. sue says:

    Wow, these look really good. I wouldn’t have thought of putting ricotta in a crepe.

  4. LuAnn says:

    These are SO versatile & delicious! I always keep a double batch, already made, in the freezer. The make great wraps for enchiladas, cream cheese & fruit crepes, just a little peanut butter & jam spread on them & rolled up, the uses are endless!
    Thank you Linda!

  5. Lori says:

    Just an idea but you could use soy flour in place of the regular flour for even less carbs.

    1. Linda says:

      I’ll try it!

      1. Carly says:

        Can you use Almond Milk in place of regular milk?

        1. Linda says:

          Yes, that would work fine!

    2. Eugene Keith says:

      Use almond flour and almond milk unsweetened to lower the carbs for an even more keto-friendly version!

  6. TakeTheCake says:

    I LOVE these! I use them for main dishes and desserts alike! Never make just a single batch, they freeze really well. Linda’s easy crepes make great lasagna noodles, and of course wrapping them around anything sweet is wonderful! Add a sprinkling of powdered Whey Low Sweetener and some chocolate curls….elegant!

  7. CaSaundra says:

    You could do so many things we these–great recipe!

  8. Jen says:

    This recipe looks great. I can’t wait to try them!

    I also just noticed your “copyright” box…I thought this recipe looked so great that I copied the whole post onto my blog. I gave you full credit, though, and provided the link to this site! You can check out the post at http://sleevethenspanx.blogspot.com/2009/11/low-carb-crepe-recipe.html – let me know if you’d like me to take it down.

    Either way, I have you on my “links” section – love your recipes!

    1. Linda says:

      No problem…I’m always interesting in networking!! Your site is pretty and I wish you nothing but great luck in your surgery-journey!

  9. Arwa says:

    These crepes were a breeze to make and taste wonderful! After making most of the batter, I added some xylitol and vanilla to what was remaining and am now enjoying some crepe suzette! Thanks for the recipe. Oh I found it better to flip them.

    1. Linda says:

      I’m glad you liked them!

  10. Tammy says:

    Made these yesterday – my first time to try. Took me about 3 of them to get the hang of it, but now I’m cooking! My batter was too thick to begin, but after thinning it out, it swirled great. Also, I tried to use Bob’s Low Carb Baking Mix in place of flour or Carquik, but I won’t do that next time. These look like wheat crepes, and while they taste fine, I don’t want the bits of “wheat” in mine. Carbquik would probably work great if you’re trying to lower the carbs. I froze mine in layers as you suggested because I want to try a lasagna with them after the holidays. I can’t wait. Thanks again!

  11. Rachel says:

    I wonder if after you cook these in a pan you could cut them into triangular shape and then bake them to make “chips”?
    Maybe add a little salt after they are baked. Do you think this would work?

    1. Linda says:

      I’m not sure…they are very moist, but doing that would crisp them up some. They wouldn’t be like pita chips, I’m pretty sure. I might have to give it a try, ’cause now you’ve made me curious!!!

  12. jennifer says:

    Hi Linda,
    WOW! I am so excited to find this and will be trying tomorrow! I did a crepe search on OH and found you!!! I tried a bruschetta and goat cheese crepe at a restaurant and was determined to find a low carb version so I could reproduce it! Thank you thank you!!! I cannot wait to check out your other recipes!!!

  13. Adrienne says:

    Hi Linda,
    I am always excited to see what new and exciting recipes you are going to share with us all! I came back looking for this recipe, as I came across a recipe for homemade manicotti and the pasta looked almost like crepes. I am wondering if your recipe could work as a substitute for the pasta. Do you think they could be a viable substitute?

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, they work great as a sub for manicotti or even lasagna noodles. They are delicate, but deal with them gently and they will be wonderful!

      1. Jeri Kole says:

        Used them for manicotti just last night (real manicotti is made with crepes, not noodles). They worked great! Thanks for the recipe!

  14. Stacey says:

    I made these this morning for my family and everyone raved! Thanks for the great recipe!!! I will be making these again for sure!

  15. Vicky says:

    Is the original filling recipe in the blog somewhere? I see chicken pot pie (yum) and others… but not the very first one that was made with more cheese and splenda etc.

  16. Angie says:

    Hi there, just wondering if the flour could be subbed out for coconut flour… trying to be wheat/grain/gluten free, white flour isn’t good for us!

  17. amyrene says:

    I finally got the courage to make these. I kept putting it off because I was afraid I would mess them up. I shouldn’t have worried.They turned out great! I used them in beef enchiladas tonight. Oh…my…goodness! Wonderful alternative to tortillas! Hubby gave them his seal of approval too. Thank you Linda for another amazing recipe.

  18. Ashton says:

    I subbed soy flour for the flour and almond milk for the milk– they turned out great! And it took the carb count down to 1.5 per. Thanks for this recipe! I’m new to low-carb eating and would have never thought of crepes!

    1. Linda says:

      Thank you so much for those suggestions. I’ve not used soy flour much, but I’m so glad to know it will work in these. I LOVE them for everything!

  19. angela says:

    Making them right now. I’m pretty excited. I used heavy cream instead of milk and soy flour to make it really low carb. So I’m to 1 net carb per crepe. They look delicious! Thanks!

  20. Jo Carroll says:

    Hey Linda,
    I was surfing on Pinterest and clicked on this recipe. I thought it looked familiar and then noticed it was your sight. I haven’t used this recipe for a long time but I think it’s time to bring it out. My husband loves it with the chicken pot pie recipe.

  21. ACR says:

    These were fantastic! I’d thought to make a batch and have a few left for tomorrow. Nope! They were eating as soon as they were done. I served them with a spoonful of Italian ground beef, and also dipped them in chili.

    I used self-rising flour, b/c that’s all I had.

  22. Louise says:

    Your instructions were very good and they taste good!

  23. Barbara says:

    I substituted large curd cottage cheese, full fat variety, for the ricotta. Omitted salt because cottage cheese has a lot of salt in it. Used my stick blender to make the batter smooth with no lumps, and they turned out great. I freeze them for later use for ricotta stuffed manicotti with italian sausage tomato sauce. Makes a low carb comfort food possible again.

  24. Stephanie says:

    These taste great! One question though…mine were dense not light and lacy. Did I do something wrong? They don’t look as thin as your pic?

    1. Linda says:

      I pour a couple tablespoons into an 8 inch pan and then swirl the pan around so that it thins it out and goes up the edges of the pan. This thins it out and makes that very lacy edge. Hope this helps!!

  25. This is genius!!! Thanks so much!!! I made quesadillas for the family last night….and just watched them eat them while I had my bowl of taco meat w/o a tortilla! NEXT time I will have this!!! Thanks!!

  26. Beverly says:

    As a diabetic, I am always looking for great low-carb recipes. I can’t wait to try these! Thanks for sharing.

  27. Here’s one that’s hard to resist…try wrapping a crepe around a square of sugar-free ice cream (buy ice cream that comes in rectangular box…slices perfect), then top with warm praline sauce. Sugar free/carb free sauces can be found online or store-bought. YUMMY!

  28. Tina Romano says:

    I don’t live in the States and would love to try this without wheat flour… Do you think other flours could be substituted.?I have chestnut, soy, coconut and rice so far.

  29. Pingback: Royal Blues |
  30. KELLY says:

    Do you have a video on Youtube or your blog for this recipe?

    1. Linda says:

      Kelly…I don’t, but that is a fabulous idea. I;ll have to work on that!

  31. Carla says:

    How many crepes per serving??

    1. Linda says:

      I usually have 3 per serving. The stats are for EACH crepe, so times the stats by how many you have on the plate.

  32. Rosemary wight says:

    Hi Linda thank you for this reciep. I wondered if almond flour or coconut would work for this as im trying to lay on wheat flour?

    1. Linda says:

      You’re welcome, Rosemary!
      I’m not sure that almond would work, but coconut just might. I would maybe use a couple teaspoons LESS, since it’s super dry. I know one commenter said they used soy flour and the crepes turned out great!

  33. Cynthia says:

    How are you? I just found this recipe and I dont have any ricotta could I leave it out or what could I use in its place?

    1. Linda says:

      Doing good, Cynthia…busy for sure!!
      Something would have to replace it…I’m thinking maybe Greek yogurt? Ricotta is thick and sour cream or whizzed up cottage cheese could be too thin. (I’ve also made my own Greek by straining regular plain yogurt overnight. Gets nice and thick!)

  34. Lisa says:

    Hi, are the carb info per serving (one crepe) correct? It seems high when I total up the ingredients and divide by twelve (approximate crepes made).

    Thanks

    Lisa

    1. Linda says:

      Thanks for the head’s up, Lisa. I use AccuChef for my nutritional stats and doubled checked my recipe on there again. Definitely too high – everything else was ok – typo on my part! I changed it.

      1. Lisa says:

        Oh Thankyou! Im so happy! Ive been looking for low carb wrap alternatives that my husband won’t raise an eyebrow at and these are superb!

        Oh and since commenting I’ve browsed your website… Go you! Love the transformation! Gorgeous 🙂

        1. Linda says:

          Thank you so much for the sweet compliment. I NEED to get back to posting more on here – life, ya know!…gets in the way, sometimes!

  35. Peanut says:

    Will this recipe work using a crepe maker instead of a pan?

    1. Linda says:

      It should work just fine, yes!

  36. Bibi says:

    Can ricotta be replaced with any thing else. Like lebenh (yogurt cheese). Or yogurt

    1. Linda says:

      I think that would work great! I know someone else used whizzed up cottage cheese and that was a success, too. I keep meaning to try it with Greek yogurt and will soon.

Leave a comment