It’s good to be over-stuffed…if you’re a baby bella!

!ArtiSpinMush724

ARTICHOKE SPINACH DIP-STUFFED MUSHROOMS

I have to say this is one of the biggest hits I’ve had…soooo good.

Everybody loves spinach dip and everybody loves stuffed mushrooms – it only stands to reason that together they’d be over the top, and they ARE!

You don’t have to use the ‘srooms if you don’t want to – baking the dip in a casserole dish and having it with whole grain crackers or veggies is just as wonderful.

Creamy, garlicky, melty, cheesy goodness inside a tender, flavorful baby bella…….swoon!

Think outside of appetizers – they’d be an upscale side to steaks or burgers. A chopped salad and two or three of these and lunch is fantastically gourmet!

~~~~


.

.
20-25 crimini or white mushrooms
4 ounces (1/2 pkg) reduced-fat cream cheese, softened
2/3 cup light Hellman’s or Best Foods mayo (this brand really is best…less greasy and doesn’t separate as much)
One 14-ounce can artichoke hearts, sqeezed to remove excess liquid and finely diced
1 cup frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon Splenda/sugar
1 cup freshly grated Parmesan (not shredded – the powdery fresh from the deli-cheese case)
Pinch cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Wipe mushrooms clean; remove stems and gently scoop out the gills to make room for the filling.

In a large bowl combine the cream cheese, mayo, diced artichoke hearts, spinach, garlic, Splenda, Parmesan, and cayenne. Fill each mushroom cap with 1 tablespoon of dip mixture. Place on a baking sheet (with sides, as the mushrooms will release liquid) and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until mushrooms are soft and the filling is golden. Serve warm. Makes approx 10 servings of 2 pieces each.

Per Serving (2 pieces): Calories 81; Protein 7 g; Fat 3 g; Carbs 3 g; Sugar 0 g; Sodium 283 mg

33 Comments Add yours

  1. Maryanna says:

    I can’t wait to try these.

  2. Kevin says:

    Stuffing mushrooms with artichoke and spinach dip is such a great idea!

    1. Hey closetcooking! I used one of your recipes for butternut tagine as a link on my blog katasher.com and it was a great hit! and to the author of this blog, Linda, I am, in the next 10 mins about to try out this one with my little girl! Artichoke mushrooms, great idea! Super work guys x

  3. TakeTheCake says:

    I love a good mushroom.. stuffed is just more to love!

    1. Linda says:

      Yeah…I’m not a mushroom lover. Hon thought they were fab, but I sorta scooped the filling out and left the little mushroom nekkid and alone!

  4. More Splenda? WHyyyyyyyy? (I’m asking seriously!) I’ve never seen so many savory dishes that include sugar. What is that about?

    1. Linda says:

      I learned from my gramma that a little bit of salt is as important as a little bit of sugar…and it is!

      The sweetener doesn’t HAVE to be added, but it does give a more rounded taste – really.

  5. Debbie says:

    I made these for a party tonight. I have them chillin in the fridge until the end and then I’ll pop them in the over. They look and smell so good!

    Thanks for the recipe!

  6. Amanda R says:

    These look absolutely luscious!

  7. Dee says:

    Love this site hope to be able to follow

  8. 501cookbooks says:

    This looks incredible! Bookmarked. 🙂

  9. Karamae says:

    Looks fantastic, thanks for posting!!

  10. Amanda says:

    I made these tonight, they were a hit! My brother who doesn’t even like spinach loved them. My mom and dad don’t like artichokes so much, so i substituted another cup of frozen spinach. After mixing it together it looked very green so I added the other half of my cream cheese package (another 4 ounces). On top of all that, I didn’t have cayenne pepper and didn’t want them to be too spicy so I added some pepperjack cheese. They were deeelicious!

  11. m4cysmom says:

    I cannot wait to make these tomorrow evening. They sound easy to make and I love things that can be made ahead and then heated. Never thought to put dips into mushrooms, but I can guarantee this will not be the last time I try it!!!! Thank you so much.

  12. Yooper says:

    I made these a few nights ago and they were FANTASTIC!!!! My boyfriend couldn’t eat enough of them!! Ended up not having enough mushrooms but we just used the leftover dip over the next few days as a spinach artichoke dip!! Yummy :):) Thanks for the recipe!!

  13. Mrs. Kate says:

    Nice recipe thanks for sharing recipe with us.

  14. Carolyn M says:

    Forgive me but I’m confused about the consistency of the parmesan…” freshly grated Parmesan (not shredded – the powdery fresh from the deli-cheese case)” Should it be the consistency of the stuff that you sprinkle on pizza?

    1. Linda says:

      Yes! It come in the Frigo or BelGioioso brands and is fresh, usually in the deli or specialty cheese case. Shredded looks like from a shredder in long or short strips. This is powdery, but not as fine as flour.

Leave a comment