Splendid satisfaction in 35 seconds!

BLOG

35-SECOND CHOCOLATE CAKE

Now here’s a sweet little sweetie that you can mix and cook in the cup and in – alright maybe 1 1/2 minutes tops – you’ll have a cute little cutie for a guilt free snack.  (But it’s only 35 seconds in the microwave…so there!)  Soooo good, for so not a lot of work!

The best part?  No huge 16-serving monstrosity sitting on your counter staring you down every time you pass by the kitchen.

I’ve been experimenting with different flavors (a White Velvet and a Lemon one) so stay tuned…check back…don’t go away!

If you wanted to make a “Master Mix” so that when the urge hits you can do this even quicker, multiply the dry ingredients in the recipe by 10, mix very well, and keep in an airtight container.  THEN when you want a nice warm cake, measure 1/3 cup and add the wet ingredients.  Perfect!!  (Thanks to reader Cindi for the idea!!)

~~~~

.

.

2 tablespoons flour

1 1/2 tablespoons Splenda Granular or Whey Low powdered

2 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon  instant coffee crystals – optional, but brings out the chocolaty YUM!

Pinch salt

2 tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon oil

Drop of vanilla extract

Spray a coffee cup or ramekin with vegetable cooking spray.  In the cup combine the flour, Splenda, cocoa powder, baking powder, coffee crystals and salt until no lumps remain.  Stir in the milk, olive oil, and vanilla until smooth.

Bake in the microwave on high for 35 seconds.  You may need to add 5 more seconds (maybe 5 more after that, depending on your microwave)… but don’t be tempted to overcook or it will be rubbery!  It should be moist on the bottom and will continue cooking as it sets.

Serve with chocolate sauce…a sprinkle of powdered sugar…whipped cream or eat plain as a brownie.

(Use hot or cold leftover coffee in place of the crystals and milk to lower the calories even more.)

Total Recipe: 110 Cal; 2 g Protein; 5 g Fat; 14 g Carb; 1 g Fiber; 0 g Sugar; 0 mg Sodium

119 Comments Add yours

  1. TakeTheCake says:

    I can attest.. this one is fantastic tasting and as easy as it looks!

  2. TakeTheCake says:

    Oh for goodness sake… I forgot to add that I have been privy to the white cake ‘test’ recipe… its good enough now!

  3. I’ve seen a lot of these types of recipes, and tried a few. This was the only one that was sugar free and made a good result. The other ones I’ve sampled were pretty horrendous – rubber hockey pucks! Thanks for finding a good recipe and for making it sugar-free!

    1. Linda says:

      The main problem with most of them is they are cooked TOO LONG!!!
      I love the idea of no egg, too…just makes it less like scrambled chocolate eggs!
      Thanks for the great review!!

  4. Anja says:

    That looks really yummy? Do you have a recipe for a really delicious and juicy chocolate cake without flour? I’ve already tryed so much, bud I don’t find a realy good… I dropped in from foodgawker.com. regards.

    1. Linda says:

      I’ve seen a lot of recipes for them…very full of melted chocolate and eggs – some with nut flour…I’m looking for the perfect recipe, too. I hope I find it SOON!! I’ll let you know!

    2. have you experimented with quinoa flour? Or if you can’t get that, you can just get quinoa, cook it (similar to cooking rice, but faster- follow the directions on the package) and then blend it up with a food processer- it’s not really fast like this, but maybe you could have it blended up beforehand. Anyway, you can replace the flour with the cooked stuff, but you would have to fiddle with the wet ingredients. Quinoa chocolate brownies/cakes are awesome! It’s a nice gluten free alternative. Maybe blended + cooked black beans could work in this recipe, too. At least with these you get a little bit more protein. Just some ideas. sorry for the rambling!!

      1. Linda says:

        Love it, Ginerva!! I do have a black bean cake on my blog and enjoy that one a lot. AND I have a quinoa (using cooked, pureed) cake that is waiting come be posted and that is my FAVORITE by far! I’m glad you’ve discovered that wonder seed and love it, too!!

        1. Courtney says:

          My absolute favourite most delicious mug cake is flour-free: 1 egg, 1/4 cup powdered sugar, 1.5 tbsp cocoa powder. Mix it up, microwave for ~45 seconds, and done!

  5. Anja says:

    It should be a ! not a ? That looks really yummy! 😉

  6. Jason says:

    Just saw this on Taste Spotting! The recipe looks like fun, I can’t wait to give it a try. Nice photo too.

  7. Aakriti says:

    I am truly astonished.. this is SO good!

    1. Linda says:

      YAYAYAYAY!!!!!

      Thanks for the review! I love the little thing, too!

  8. Hetal says:

    delicious! made a few tweaks , added cinnamon instead of coffee and it turned out amazing. moist and def quick!

  9. girlone says:

    a fun idea, no doubt, but in the end this didn’t really taste like much of anything.

  10. Judy says:

    Yum!! My picky daughter and I just tried this, and it’s good! She hates Splenda and doesn’t have a weight problem, so she used sugar in hers, and said it was good too. It sure hit the “cake place” for me! 😉

  11. Linda, this was sooooo good! We added Sugar Free Raspberry preserves and sugar free hot fudge. My husband licked the plate clean! LOL!

    Thanks for this recipe!

  12. TakeTheCake says:

    Okay, I love this cake so much I made two in a row. Warning.. if you are gastric bypass like me, you can have a slight problem with whey low in larger doses. Just sayin’.. but then again, we aren’t supposed to eat two at a time, one right directly after another.. lesson learned the hard way. The little baby cake is good..

  13. Pam says:

    Looks heavenly!

  14. Holly B says:

    How long in the oven for those of us who choose not to own a microwave? Sounds delish!

    1. Linda says:

      Hmmm…I would say maybe 12-15 minutes…no…maybe 15-18 minutes. Muffins are usually 18 on average and this is not quite that much batter.
      Wow – now I’m curious, too. Might have to make one and try it!

      1. Holly B says:

        18 minutes @ 350F. Perfect for an insatiable chocolate craving for those of us who count calories like religion… Next I’ll try it with the yogurt suggestion from Judy, sounds even better!

        1. Linda says:

          GOOD TO KNOW!!!
          Thanks, dolly

  15. Veronica says:

    I have to try this!

  16. Judy says:

    I made a little change tonight…I added 2T greek yogurt and 1 T milk instead of the 2T milk. O.M.G. YUM!!! I wanted something a little gooier, and that definitely did it. The yogurt may have been just a little much, maybe 1.5 T yogurt to 1.5 T milk next time, but it is really good that way. Sorta like pudding cake, but it definitely got done all the way through.

    1. Linda says:

      How wonderful!! I love those gooey pudding cakes!

  17. Rachel says:

    This is wonderful Linda! My kids thought it was the coolest thing to make their own little cakes! Hubby loved his too. Mine ended up being two servings for me so the stats were better than great! I am thinking a little raspberry extract in the batter too…maybe a sliced s/f peach on top? hmmm

  18. Liz says:

    My boyfriend read the ingredients aloud to me while I put this together, and accidentally told me to put two tablespoons of cocoa powder… he only realized after I poured and mixed the cocoa in, of course. We baked it anyway and WOW!

    The extra cocoa made this cake absolutely perfect. I’ve only ever heard horror stories about “mug cakes”, but I thought I’d give this recipe a try with all of the good reviews. I’m so glad I did!

    So if you like a cake with less sweetness and more chocolate taste, I suggest upping the cocoa powder to two tablespoons.

    1. Linda says:

      I DO, I WILL, and THANK YOU!!!!

      I love dark, dark chocolate and this would be something just for me. My husband…not so much…the way it is is fine by him.

  19. Orchid64 says:

    I would love to see a peanut butter version of this. It’s great as is, of course, but variations will be appreciated!

    1. Rondi Pogue says:

      substitute peanut butter for the oil….. so good!

  20. kmaxatuga says:

    i like it, but i feel like it has could use more baking powder and the olive oil taste is a bit much for me, i think i’ll just use canola next time. but overall, delish

  21. Laura says:

    I loooovvvveeeddd this recipe. I didn’t have any cocoa in the house though, so i dumped about a quarter of a packet of sugar free hot chocolate mix in there. it made it so creamy! Like a previous poster, I ended up makign two in a row! thanks for the recipe!!

  22. Debbie says:

    I make this and put sf chocolate chips on top and sometimes sf caramel sauce. Yummy!

  23. Robyn says:

    I made this tonight for the fam and loved it! Shouldn’t have eaten as much of the ramekin as I did, only 5 weeks post RNY, but it was almost too yummy to stop.

    However, it did come out a little dry. Did I do something wrong? It certainly wasn’t as moist as your picture looks. Help? I certainly will be making it more and can’t wait to try the lemon!

    Thank you for this!

    1. Linda says:

      It should be quite moist…maybe your microwave is more powerful – (some have to nuke theirs for a little LONGER…so I know they aren’t all the same) even a tiny bit over-cooked it will be dry and very ‘spongy’.

      Try 25 or 30 seconds and see if that helps. If you lift it up with a fork and look at the bottom, it should still appear wet. Even if it’s a little too moist, it will continue cooking as it cools.

      I hope you keep trying, doll! It’s so good!!

  24. gharkness says:

    “As it cools”? HUH? You are kidding, right?

    Who could ever wait for it to cool?

  25. Jessica says:

    I wanna know how to make this into a big cake! Not all for me, of course!

    1. Sara says:

      I would just multiply everything by 10 or 12 and you can bake it in the oven for 18 minutes at 350…hope this helps!

  26. Ingrid says:

    yummy – i have made this lots and i love that it is ingredients i always have on hand! i have tried it with a bit sour cream or yoghurt added and that is yummy too, or a bit of jam swirled through is nice too… although the recipe without modifications is pretty perfect!

  27. Heather says:

    Thank you for this recipe Linda! By FAR the best microwave mug cake recipe I’ve come across 🙂 Delish!

  28. Suzi says:

    Has anyone suggested unrefined coconut oil for the oil? Unrefined coconut oil smells amaaazing, it’s the best stuff ever.

    1. Linda says:

      I LOVE unrefined coconut oil and just got some from Topical Traditions. I haven’t tried it in this recipe yet, but that would be fab!

      Thanks for the suggestion!

    2. Suzi says:

      Okay, that freaked me out! Just found this website today via Pinterest, and was intrigued by this recipe. Reading the comments, I was thinking, “I’m gonna suggest trying unrefined coconut oil instead!” (because the stuff has changed my life), and lo and behold, here’s a comment saying that very thing. With my name. Spelled the same. But not me. [cue Twilight Zone music]

      Can’t wait to make this little sweetie after work today!

      1. Linda says:

        That IS a little too weird!!
        I’ve not tried the coconut oil with it, but have the coconut concentrate cream (from Tropical Traditions) and it’s so, so good. Anything coconuty is fine by me!!

  29. Alice says:

    I just made it, but mine sort of looks like a lumpy mess. :/ And I’m not getting the taste either. Maybe it’s because I used Pure Via sugar instead of Splenda?Anyway, I enjoyed trying at least, and your idea is fabulous!

    1. Linda says:

      Well, that’s not fun! I’m so sorry it didn’t work for you…can’t imagine what went wrong. I’ve not used the Pure Via, but I would think it should work just fine. I’ll have to check it out.

  30. Lori says:

    Awesome recipe idea Linda! I just tried it out and it turned out great (even with a couple of minor changes).

    I used regular whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I also chose to use skim milk. And I substituted 2 packages of Truvia for the 1 1/2 tbsp. Splenda Granular.

    Wow! Would not have believed it had I not tried it myself. Thanks so much. I will be sharing this recipe soon with my blog readers (with a link back to your original recipe).

  31. Alice says:

    Sooo good. Def recommend. I added a few chocolate chips (and used sugar because I didn’t have splenda…) which I guess defeats the purpose. But still sooo yum and I like the idea that there isn’t a whole cake to polish – good portion size too 🙂

    1. Linda says:

      Yeah…the whole, big cake thing…not a good idea around ME!! (Glad you loved it!)

  32. Tracey says:

    Mine turned out perfect with just 30 seconds in the micro. I used extra coffee granules and extra cocoa and it was wonderful. I like this one much better than the ones with egg in it. Will be trying the lemon one at a later date.

  33. fatima says:

    i saw this nd i literally shouted “I LOVE U”!!! thanks so much for posting this i’m craving cakes =)

  34. Christina says:

    This was soooo good! Prefect for the chocolate craving I was having! I substituted the oil for apple sauce (unsweetened) and the milk with Unsweetened Silk Almondmilk (I like the flavor of it better than regular milk, and it has more calcium and only 35 calories per cup!). I also substituted the flour for Wheat flour (unbleached)….with all the substitutions I made, the whole thing ended up having only 70 calories!

    Thanks for the recipe! Can’t wait to try the other variations of it you mentioned! 🙂

  35. Elle says:

    Thank you so much! I am loving the cake in a mug idea.

    I used unsweetened apple sauce in place of oil
    vanilla soy milk and yogurt in place of just milk
    1 tsp of brown sugar
    leftover coffee
    whole wheat flour
    added some cinnamon
    YUM!!!

    I will definitely be making this again!

  36. Amber says:

    The calories on this look wrong to me. 2 tablespoons of flour alone are 90 calories, according to my bag of all-purpose flour. I came up with 156 cal per serving when I used 2% milk.

    When I made this with sugar and put a handful of mini chocolate morsels on top, it was awesome. Then I started my diet and made it with Splenda and no chocolate chips.. still ok, but nowhere near as good. 🙂

    1. Linda says:

      I’m glad you loved the little cake – and yes, I imagine with sugar and mini chocolate chips it’s GOOD!!

      Flour has approx 28 calories per tablespoon. I looked on my bag of Gold Medal all purpose and it’s 110 calories for 1/4 cup – 4 tablespoons. (I also use AccuChef to figure out the stats.)

  37. Ali says:

    Oh. My. Gosh. Saw this on Pinterest tonight, knew I had all the ingredients on hand (except Splenda) and had to try it!! I used regular sugar but made everything else as written and I was in ecstasy with every bite! I will absolutely be making this again. For anyone who’s curious, it’s 5 WW points when made with real sugar, 4 points if you substitute unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I used oil this time, but will try the applesauce instead next time. And there WILL be a next time! Like, tomorrow night! Haha. 🙂 Sooo chocolatey and moist/borderline gooey! Thank you for the fabulous recipe! I dusted it with powdered sugar and added a sliced up strawberry.

  38. Sarah says:

    In my new 1000 watt microwave, 35 seconds was almost too much because while it was delicious, it was almost a little dry. The next time (probably tomorrow) I’ll only cook it for 30 seconds.

  39. steffy says:

    WOW!!! I’m trying it soon!!! I’ll take it to workplace so no more silly crisps!!! Steffy P.s. thanks for posting!!!!!!!!!

  40. Ali W says:

    YUM! Just made it with real sugar and espresso crystals. My calcs indicate 141 calories for the serving — SO worth it.

  41. Well wasn’t that a tasty little morsel..:) And honestly..I’m full…great treat!! Thanks, Linda!

  42. Rondi Pogue says:

    just made it and LOVE it!!!!
    I used unsweetened apple sauce instead of oil and I threw in a few chocolate chips…… so yummy!

  43. SaRaH says:

    Sounds good!

  44. Shoni says:

    This looks good! I’d be interested in a recipe without wheat flour if you have one.

    Thanks for all the great recipes!

  45. Denise says:

    This is the best little recipe for when you have a chocolate craving. I actually printed out this recipe and keep it on the fridge so my kids can make it for themselves. The first time I tried it I used regular sugar. It was soooo yummy. The second time I tried Pure Via(Stevia) and it was horrible. It did not come out good at all. The cake did not even rise properly and tasted bad enough to throw it away without even eating it. I am not sure why Stevia won’t work in this recipe, but it just does not. I thank you(and curse you at the same time) for this wonderful recipe!!

  46. Diana C. says:

    Hey Linda! I was searching through your dessert recipes and came across this one. You mentioned having a recipe for white velvet and lemon. I couldn’t seem to find those on your site. Would you mind pointing me in the right direction?? Thanks!

  47. Darlene says:

    Sounds great! Could you substitute almond or coconut flour? Thanks!

    1. Linda says:

      I tried this the other night with coconut flour (same measurement), even added another 1/2 tablespoon of milk, and it was powdery dry…never even made to “cake” form…just crumbly dry crumbs. I might do it again, but reduce the flour by half at least.

      Almond flour would work, yes. Might eliminate the oil, though. When I remake a regular flour recipe with almond, I usually cut the fat by a third to account for the fat in the AF!

      1. Darlene says:

        Thanks so much for the info. I’m going to try the almond flour without the oil.
        Great blog – I just found you!

  48. OMG! Seriously?? Where have you been all my life. That’s AMAZING! Definitely going to give this a try this weekend.

  49. Joyce says:

    Looks great

  50. Megan Abbott says:

    This is so good ! Gonna be a new favorite!

  51. Kacie says:

    This was amazing! I think my micro may be a bit more powerful so I would do 30 seconds next time. I used a bigger sized mug so it came out kind of “lumpy” looking but I believe if I used a smaller mug or bowl it would have been more uniform. Also, I tried the coffee leftover in my coffeepot from the morning in place of the milk like you suggested and it was very rich and delicious! What a great idea for a quick chocolate “fix” without the guilt!

  52. Cathy says:

    Hubby wanted to go out tonight for dessert. It’s raining and all the places with desserts are 500 plus calories. Showed him the picture off your coffee mug cake. We gave it a try and it was fabulous. Took care of the chocolate fix! We topped it with a little whipped cream, 3-4 chocolate chips and pecans. Yummy!

  53. cindi fairchild says:

    I’m wondering if you could mix all the dry ingredients together, mix well and save in a airtight container and then scoop out single serving portions and just add the liquids and then cook? If that would work what would the serving portion be for a single serving? I have made this a few times and used Stevia and my family loves it!

  54. Yum! Love this and so does my 9 year old. Thanks for all of the recipes! You rock!

  55. tryingtoeathealthy says:

    Meh, just OK

  56. Margo says:

    Can I use powdered Stevia in place of the Splenda and get same results? Thanks can’t wait to make this tomorrow!

    1. Linda says:

      I think that would work just fine. Since the Splenda doesn’t add anything to the texture, should be great. I’m not very familiar with Stevia, so can’t say how much to use. Let me know…I need to branch out with my sweeteners!

  57. Kimberly says:

    Just made using 1 T Torani Sugar-Free Chocolate syrup & 1 T fat-free milk. I also used unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. Deep chocalate flavor and more like a brownie. Excellent!!!

  58. Lindsay says:

    I first tried this with almond meal/flour and almond milk and it turned out grainy and never became cakelike so I threw it out. I made it the way it was written except with almond milk instead of regular milk and it puffed up beautifully but tasted very dry and not especially sweet. I might cook it for less time or perhaps do the almond flour/no oil as was mentioned above. May try applesauce as well.

  59. Marci says:

    Love, love, love….ate the whole thing reading all the post. I accidently put a whole packet of sanka instead of 1/8 tsp…it was amazing…yeah, beleive it, amazing. Not to mention, I didn’t blow my diet! love, love love!

  60. love this! says:

    Totally hit the spot…cooked up just like you said it would… we added Midnight Moo (organic chocolate syrup) & 6 frozen raspberries to each mug. A.MAZ.ING. :o)

  61. JM says:

    I’ve been looking for a mug-cake recipe without eggs and this one is the best one yet! I only had brown sugar, so I added 1TB of that, and put in a TS of crunchy peanut butter and 1/2 TS of oil instead. I also added in about 5 peanut butter chips. SO delicious- thank you!

  62. I tried this today! awesome! what was nice is the ingredients were so simple i just chucked them in a bag and brought them to game night, and made individual brownies for 4 of us. It was nice not to have the temptation of a whole cake to share, – also, less dishes in total. woooot!

  63. Jennifer says:

    I only had regular sugar, added 1T instead of 2t of cocoa and a mint truffle hershey’s kiss. It was actually quite yummy.

  64. Melissa says:

    I didn’t think I would be able to taste the small amount of coffee crystals in this, but I was wrong! It came out very bitter tasting and all I could taste was coffee. If you aren’t a coffee drinker, skip that part! I will try it again but without the coffee!

    1. Jean says:

      I don’t drink coffee either but love the smell. 99 cent store (yep!) has boxes
      of individual packets, like French Vanilla -10 in a box; it is perfect for this.
      The french vanilla adds a great taste, try it! Easy on $$ too!! I used it in a
      Pinterest 2 ingredient cake recipe (I used Cherry ZERO cola and 1 box of
      devils food cake) and 1 of these packets…no eggs, oil, flour, or anything else.
      It was pleasantly fudgy and EASY. Just sayin…thought you might like
      the french vanilla packets. Great to have on hand in a hurry and 99 cents.

  65. Jen Morris says:

    Delicious – thank you for this recipe!

  66. Lauren says:

    I have gotten into the (bad?) habit of making one of these almost every day. I have always used stevia with great results. I’ve also tried refined coconut oil for the oil and it was amazing!! I also like to mix just a few chocolate chips into the batter. Only variation i didnt like was ww flour–too gummy. I love this little treat–it’s a perfect way to satisfy my persistent sweet tooth without eating a whole box of Oreos!! 🙂

  67. Deborah says:

    I just tried your quick chocolate fix for breakfast with whole wheat flour cuz that’s all I had. Next time I will make it with all purpose flour and definitely add dark chocolate chips as suggested above. Think I will make a quick run to the grocery store. Thx for recipe.

  68. Melissa says:

    This was delish!!!

  69. Robin says:

    I replaced the flour with quinoa flour – still worked fine!

  70. Iman says:

    I have tried many recipes before but this is actually the only recipe that satisfied my craving for two days to come. And I love multiplying the dry ingredients till the next time craving hits. It is just 2 ww points. So thank you .

  71. Tia says:

    So good!! I did substitute the peanut butter for the oil…turned out great!! Did take a little longer than 35 seconds but it was worth it!! Added a dollop of peanut butter to the top when it was done!! Delish!!

  72. very good. topped with fresh strawberries and fat free whipped cream,
    very nice little treat.

  73. naomi says:

    hmmm i just made it, but it was more like a cookie than a cake. there really wasn’t that much. i used the correct measurements. any clue what happened?

    1. Linda says:

      I’m not sure, Naomi. I use a 1/2 cup size cup or ramekin and it rises to the top of the cup and then falls just very slightly, It’s definitely the texture of cake, though. Baking powder still active…maybe? I hope it works for you if you try it again!

  74. Natalie says:

    Just tried it and it was delicious, though it did not cook very well and so I ate it raw. Still good though haha.

  75. Susan says:

    yum. it was so good!

Leave a comment