Something’s fishy here…in a good way!

CRISPY TILAPIA IN TOMATO-CREAM SAUCE

This is a fast and filling dish – protein-packed and everyone will love it.  I use tilapia in most of my fish dishes because it’s my husbands favorite.  It’s mild and easy to work with as it doesn’t fall apart or “weep” like some varieties can.  It is forgiving (for those of us who may overcook their seafood…moi!) and stays moist.  Sounds about perfect to me!

I served it with steamed edamame sprinkled with sea salt for an even bigger protein punch.

~~~~

 

.

1 1/3 cups favorite spaghetti sauce

1 garlic clove, minced

3 tablespoons half & half

Four 4-5 ounce Tilapia fillets

1/2 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper

1 egg, beaten

1 1/2 cups Panko crumbs

1 teaspoon salt-free Italian Seasoning

Freshly grated Parmesan

.

In a medium sauce pan, over medium-low heat, bring the sauce and garlic to a simmer.  Stirring occasionally, allow to cook until reduced by half.  The sauce will become dark red and thick.  Stir in the cream and heat through.  Keep warm.

Rinse and dry the tilapia fillets and set aside.

In three pie plates or shallow dishes, place the flour, salt and pepper in one, the beaten egg in another, and the crumbs mixed with the seasoning in the third.  Coat each fillet with the flour mixture, dip in egg until covered, and then press on the crumbs.

Heat  a frying pan on medium to medium-high heat until very hot.  (Will depend on YOUR stove.  Mine is very hot on medium.)  Add a little olive oil and fry the fish for 3-4 minutes on each side until crispy-golden and fish flakes easily with a fork.  Remove to a platter and spoon the sauce over.  Garnish with Parmesan.  Makes 4 servings.

Per Serving: Calories 300; Protein 25 g; Fat 4 g; Carbs 20 g; Fiber 3 g; Sugar 2 g; Sodium 664 mg  (The stats on this recipe account for the entire amount of  flour and Panko crumbs.  However,  you may not use all of them, so that will reduce the carbs and calories a bit.)

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    This sounds fabulous.I’ve been looking for new ways to make tilapia.

  2. Randa says:

    This sounds really good! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I was beginning to be a little worried about you . . . I was checking your blog pager periodially with no new update. Hope everything is okay! Glad to hear from you!

  3. Leilani says:

    Sounds delish’ – as much as husband and I love fish, it’s a recipe that I’ll have to make. Can’t wait to try it. As always, thanks Linda.

  4. LuAnn says:

    Oh so good! As always, Linda, you’re the best!!!!! Thank you!

  5. love tilapia—this looks like a great way to eat it!

  6. Marian Kern says:

    Linda,

    I really don’t like any other fish except grouper (which is hard to get in Tennessee) and salmon. Could this be made with salmon fillets?

  7. Leeci says:

    Thanks, Linda!! Always look forward to your posts!

  8. Alison Ghany says:

    I made this today for lunch. Instead of tilapia I used grouper because I thought I had tilapia but didn’t. I’ll have to try it with tilapia.

  9. CaSaundra says:

    I usually use tilapia too–I love how versatile it is. Great recipe–hope all is well Linda!

  10. Debbie says:

    This was delicious. I didn’t have the marina sauce and just squeezed fresh lemon on it….Yumm-O. Thanks again for a great recipe!

  11. Heather says:

    I made this tonight, and it was delicious! Thank you for the fantastic recipe, I will definitely make it again!

  12. Kristi Landis says:

    Do you know what the carbs are in this dish?

Leave a comment