Beans…the more you eat…the more – healthy you get.

Blog28

KIDNEY BEAN BURGERS

Okay…some of us may toot…but they’re still super healthy!

I like to use them in lots of ways – although simply in a bowl with a little butter and spices is fantastic – and these burgers were really good.

With added ground nuts to up the protein, the carbs are complex and fiber-filled.   On a toasted whole grain bun or plain with all the fixings, these make a very filling meal.  (They are even better as leftovers.)

~~~~

 

 

One 15-ounce can kidney beans, drained, rinsed and mashed  (my fave brand is S&W)

1/4 cup pecans, coarsely ground

1/4 cup onion, finely diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 egg white

2 tablespoons flour (can use chickpea or oat flour)

2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

1 tablespoon ketchup

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon sweet yellow curry powder (I love Penzey’s curry)

1/4 teaspoon cumin

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

.

In a large bowl combine the mashed beans, pecans, onion, garlic, egg white, flour, parsley, ketchup, chili powder, curry powder, cumin, salt, and pepper.  Mix well and chill for 15 minutes.

Form into burgers and fry in a small amount of oil, or in a nonstick pan sprayed with vegetable cooking spray, over medium heat.  Makes 5 burgers.

Per burger: 126 Calories; 6 g Protein; 4 g Tot Fat; 17 g Carb (13 NET); 4 g Fiber; 1 g Sugar; 289 mg Sodium

Blog10

 

39 Comments Add yours

  1. Marilyn says:

    Hi Linda, Your recipes are so amazing! The best on the net! I cannot wait to try these. I have finally discovered the world of beans through your recipes and love them Thanks again for all your creativity and hard work.

  2. woods4 says:

    Hi, this sounds really good, I’ll have to bookmark it for burger night!

  3. stephchows says:

    home made veggie burgers are so much better than those frozen hockey pucks they sell at the grocery store 🙂 looks delicious!

  4. Ellie says:

    Just wanted to drop by and let you know how much I enjoy your site. Your recipes are amazing! Looking forward to trying this soon. Looks absolutely delicious!!

  5. tastyeatsathome says:

    I’m going to have to try these! They look tasty!

  6. Christiane says:

    These look AMAZING! Definitely giving these a whirl. Love the addition of the pecans.

  7. Lorena says:

    They look awesome. I’m pretty sure m vegetarian sister-in-law will love them!

  8. TakeTheCake says:

    As usual, coming from Linda, this recipe looks wonderful. And nuts! An unexpected heart healthy surprise. I will try this…. just as soon as I get into full on cooking mode again.

    Really great vegetarian recipes are not so easy to come by. So many that I have pulled from the net look hopeful, but turn out to be bland or dry. I know that whatever you put out there will not disappoint me or my family. Thank you and please, never stop!

  9. Deb Schiff says:

    Gorgeous! Lovely photos and healthy burgers. I’ll have to try making these.

  10. grace says:

    i don’t think i’m exaggerating when i say that my life wouldn’t be complete without beans. awesome burgers!

  11. Aggie says:

    Wow, that burger looks fantastic! I love bean burgers, have bookmarked this recipe! Found you on Serious Eats!! Great blog!

  12. Dina says:

    I’ve made these burgers about 4 times this week!! I absolutely love them. I didn’t use a sweet curry, I used a regular yellow curry powder that you can find in the grocery store and it was soooo good! I also used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and 1/4 tsp of ancho chili pepper! Really yummy!

  13. Janice says:

    What can I substitute for the egg whites? I don’t eat eggs, but this recipe looks really tempting!

    1. Linda says:

      There are a couple things you could try for binding. A vegan site suggested using 2 tablespoons flax meal mixed with 2 tablespoons warm water. Let it sit for a minute to absorb.
      Or 1/4 cup pureed tofu for 1 egg
      If you don’t mind using flour, try another tablespoon of that, or pancake mix works well, too.
      I hope you do try them, they are good…and even better as leftovers!

  14. Deb L says:

    Hello sweet Sis!! I have to admit, I balked at the whole idea of a “bean burger”. As an admitted carnivore it just seems sacrilegious somehow. lol!

    UNTIL I came over and looked at your incredible Photographs. OMG. I have gotta have me one of those. They look AMAZINGLY delicious!! Now, cheese would work on them right? lol!

    BTW, ALL of your photographs are AMAZING. You really have a talent for it. I am surprised you haven’t been snatched up by some big company to photograph for them. No, wait, that would be AWFUL!!!! lol!

    Big HUGS!
    D

  15. Lena S. says:

    I agree with Deb, your photography skills are second only to your ability to manipulate healthy ingredients into amazing decadent delights! You MUST publish a book 1 day sweetheart! I know lots who will buy it!

  16. Missa says:

    Im chowing on these right now, SOOO GOOD!!! No bun, shredded some low fat white cheddar under then laid the burger on top of it. Such a pleasant spice in my mouth! Im SO glad Im the only one at my house so I can have these the rest of the week…Im impressed!

    The taste is mild, yet powerful. Amazing! Thanks Linda!!!

  17. claire says:

    yum, sounds great!

  18. I was trying to sing up for your email but the button on your website is not working!!! help

    1. Linda says:

      I did it for you, Janice…you should get a confirmation email soon…just reply to that and you’ll be set!
      Thanks for joining!

  19. Kelly says:

    I tried these burgers last night and they were DELICIOUS! Do you know where I could find Sweet Yellow Curry? I cannot wait to try out so many of these awesome recipes!

    1. Linda says:

      I buy my Sweet Curry from Penzey’s. I know they do have retail stores in some states – sadly, not by me!

      All of their products are exceptional, and very inexpensive for what you get.

      Regular yellow curry works great, also. That can be found just about everywhere.

      Here is the link… http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/p-penzeyscurryswe.html

  20. kaitlin says:

    I was wondering if these burgers could be made on the grill, or if they would fall apart while trying to cook them

  21. Pingback: Submit Data
  22. Sonya says:

    I made these and fell head over heels inlove with them! The only change I made was to add in a small amount of liquid smoke to the recipe. It made these that much more awesome. I’m sending you a big squeezy hug for posting this wonderful recipe. My whole meat eating family gobbled these right up! My youngst wanted left overs for lunch 🙂 thank you!!!

  23. Tania says:

    Hi!

    Can these be frozen?

    Thanks

    1. Linda says:

      Hi, Tania! Yes, they can! I either wrap them individually in sandwich size ziploc bags, or stacked with wax paper between.

  24. Diane Kimura says:

    Fantastic recipe! I made it again and added corn and grated carrots.

    Thank you for this recipe, it was a hit with even the carnivors!

    1. Linda says:

      Thank you, Diane! So glad everyone loved it!

  25. Lynn Lewis says:

    I don’t use curry powder, what can I sub for this?

    1. Linda says:

      You could use dashes of cinnamon, coriander, ginger and turmeric. Or just any one of those!

Leave a comment