Have an over-abundant zucchini plant…or 10?

BLOG

CREAMY ZUCCHINI SOUP

Here’s a delectable solution!

I make a lot of soup and this is one of our favorites.  Very fresh and bright – it can be left chunky or pureed for a smooth creamy version.

You can use the green zucchini or the yellow summer squash or walk on the wild side and use both ;).

~~~~

 

 

1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 cups diced zucchini (3 medium)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 1/4 teaspoon basil
1 teaspoon parsley
1/4 teaspoon oregano
1/8 teaspoon tarragon
1/4 teaspoon Splenda or sugar
Dash freshly grated nutmeg
Pinch red pepper flakes, or to taste
2 cups chicken broth
3/4 cup evaporated milk

In a large saucepan heat butter and olive oil over medium-low heat. Add onion and garlic and cook over medium-low heat for 15 minutes or until very tender and translucent. Add zucchini, salt, pepper, basil, parsley, oregano, tarragon, Splenda, nutmeg, and red pepper flakes and cook for 2 minutes. Stir in broth and milk. Bring to a simmer and cook until zucchini are tender. Remove from heat and puree, either in a blender, processor, or with an immersion blender. Makes 5 servings.

Per Serving: Calories 136; Protein 6 g; Fat 9 g; Carbs 9 g; Sugar 3 g; Sodium 606 mg

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Phil says:

    You had me until you said “splenda.” Can I just use sugar?

    1. Linda says:

      Absolutely!

      In fact, if it’s just a small amount in a WHOLE recipe, I will use sugar sometimes.

  2. Erin says:

    This looks wonderful…I have to make this tonight! Thanks for your great recipes! Keep it up.

  3. Katie says:

    Wow, this looks amazing! I happen to have both zucchini and yellow squash, so I might get adventurous and make this with both!

  4. Kim says:

    Sounds really good! Does it freeze well?

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, it does…sometimes it may look separated, but I gently reheat and then whiz again with the blender, if need be. Good as new!

  5. Katie says:

    Hi Linda,

    This is the first recipe I’ve made from your site. I just discovered this site last week. I LOVE IT! Trying the Wendy’s Chili tomorrow! The Creamy Zucchini soup is AMAZING!

  6. sarbear1987 says:

    This soup sounds sooo good. I found your recipe via Design Crush. I was so excited about it that I wrote about it on my blog, hope that’s OK. You can check it out here:
    http://dapperblossom.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/yes-soup-for-you/

    I can’t wait to make it!!

    1. Linda says:

      I’m honored! And I hope you find more faves from my files!!

Leave a comment