Hello, Lover!

RED VELVET WAFFLES

Cream Cheese Whipped Cream “Frosting”

Valentine’s Breakfast for a special someone?  Perfect.  Lazy Sunday morning for those you love all year?  Amazing gesture!

These are gorgeous and have the familiar red velvet flavor that’s coveted.  A hint of cocoa, slightly sweet…and a fun deep red that makes them seem more work than they are!  I topped them with a traditional cream cheese-whipped cream “frosting”, and a drizzle of syrup.   

No matter when you make them, or who you make them for…you’ll be loved in return!

I also think this batter would work as pancakes, if you don’t have a waffle maker…might as well give it a shot! 

(These are not low carb…simply low in sugar.  But for a special day, we’ll live through it!)

~~~~

.

.

Waffles:

1 1/2 cups cake flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 cup Whey Low Granular (Splenda or sugar)

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 cup skim or 2% milk  (if making into pancakes reduce to 1 1/4 cup)

3 eggs, separated

6 tablespoons melted butter

1 tablespoon red food coloring

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cider vinegar

.

In a large bowl whisk together the cake flour, cocoa powder, Splenda (sugar), salt, and baking powder.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl whisk together the milk, egg yolks, melted butter, food coloring, vanilla, and vinegar.  Add to the dry ingredients and whisk just until combined.

In another bowl beat the egg whites until stiff.  With a spatula, fold into the batter mixture.  (It’s okay if a few fluffs remain.)

Make in a preheated waffle iron per instructions.  Serve immediately with Cream Cheese Whipped Cream.

.

Cream Cheese Whipped Cream:

1 cup whipping cream

1/2 cup Splenda (or powdered sugar)

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

8 ounces fat-free cream cheese, softened

.

Beat the whipping cream, Splenda, and vanilla until stiff peaks form.  Beat in the cream cheese until smooth.

Makes approx 7 servings, depending on your waffle maker.  I used a Belgium maker and the photo below is from one batch in the maker.  Stats are for seven servings (two waffles, each about 5 inches square; approx 1/3 cup of topping) that look like the photo.

Per Serving:  Calories 341; Fat 15 g, Protein 13 g; Carbs 30 g, Fiber 2 g; Sugar 7 g; Sodium 399 mg

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathleen says:

    I’m making these this Saturday! YUM….Can’t wait.

  2. Mirya Rule says:

    Those look absolutely decadent. I’m sorry that I got rid of the waffle iron now but I may try them as pancakes. I love your recipes and your photography.

  3. T2Nashville says:

    I don’t have a waffle maker, so I will be your guinea pig for pancakes this weekend. Will report back. Need to pick up some red food coloring, and I am set! Have I told you lately how much I love you, Linda Farnsworth? Yeah, I think you know. 🙂

  4. T2Nashville says:

    I made this recipe tonight as pancakes…and then I thinned out some of the batter and made crepes! And then I rolled one up with a bit of this cream cheese frosting and a sprinkle of pecans. Yeah, baby! You are a genius! Thank you..this is a keeper.

    1. Linda says:

      YAY!!! I’m so glad you loved them! Thanks for the great review, dolly!!

  5. Stacey says:

    Thanks for sharing the recipe for your waffles. They would be delicious any day but being Red Velvet they are especially perfect for Valentine’s Day. It is one of the items featured in my blot post on Valentine’s breakfasts.

    Stacey
    http://iwanttomakethis.com/2012/02/breakfast-for-your-valentine.html

  6. autteach says:

    I am really enjoying reading your blog! Your photographs are great and I am loving these recipes! Looking forward to seeing what you post next! 🙂

  7. Wow- these look beautiful! What a festive treat : )

  8. Kathy says:

    So Hon, it’s been two months. Valentine’s Day is long past. What say we move those red pancakes down the page…?

  9. Jill says:

    It is imperative that I try these. I’m usually there for red velvet foodstuffs, but these are waffles. I cannot say no to waffles. (The pancake and crepe ideas that everyone’s been tossing around are a definite bonus. I’ve added them to my to-do list because it was a long winter and I deserve a reward. Or several.)

    Thank you for putting a recipe like this out into the world!

  10. Beverly Pace says:

    Can Kodiac pancake mix be subbed for the flour?

    1. Linda says:

      Hmmmm…I’m not sure subbing straight across would work since it has sweetener and leavening in it. Maybe, to the pancake mix, add the cocoa powder, food coloring, and vinegar. That should work fine, I think!

Leave a comment