No-flour bread. Riiiiiiiiight….

CLOUD BREAD

This recipe has been around for awhile.  I’ve poo-pooed it and thought:  GAG.  But that just goes to show ya’…try it before you say you don’t like it!

I have to thank so many people from Before&AfterChat message board for being ‘pushers’ and talking incessantly about this stuff.  I finally broke down and made a batch and it’s pretty darn good.

Light, airy, fluffy, mild tasting – not eggy at all.  I made it with cream cheese, and the smell was wonderful as it baked.  It has sort of a tangy flavor – maybe like a very mild sourdough.  But this is right out of the oven and cooled.  We’ll see what we get after it sits overnight and mellows!

This is NOT bread…and won’t pass for it in a blind taste-test!!  But as a “holder” for all sorts of fixings, this works great.

I’m thinking of SO many variations:  orange zest and almond extract, cinnamon and minced raisins, cocoa powder, finely shredded sharp cheddar and minced crisp bacon, pizza seasonings and Parmesan, roasted garlic and Feta crumbles….somebody STOP ME!!

~~~~

 

 

(this recipe adapted from cleochatra)

3 eggs, separated

3 ounces reduced-fat/fat-free cream cheese OR 3 tablespoons  sour cream or ricotta cheese or cottage cheese or thick yogurt

1/2 teaspoon Splenda granular

1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar

Pinch of salt

.

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Spray a large baking sheet with vegetable cooking spray and set aside.

In a large bowl, with very clean beaters, whip the egg whites with the cream of tartar for 3-4 minutes – or until very stiff peaks form and they are almost turning dry.  Set aside.

With the same beaters, in a large bowl beat the cold cream cheese until smooth.  Beat in the egg yolks, Splenda, and salt for 2 minutes until light yellow.

Gently fold one-third of the egg whites into the yolk mixture to lighten.  Fold in the remaining whites until all fluffs disappear, but be careful not to deflate them.

Mound into desired sizes on the prepared baking sheet (or in a pizza pan, or muffin tins, or a mini loaf pan…whatever shape and size you want).  Bake for 30 minutes – depending on size.  (I made 6 large pieces and 30 minutes was just right.  Smaller sizes will require less time…just watch.)  They should be a deep golden brown and crispy to the touch.

Immediately loosen with a pancake turner and allow to cool for a few minutes on the pan.  Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.  Store in an airtight container or plastic bag.

These are the stats for the WHOLE recipe.  Divide by how many servings you prefer.

Total Recipe: 474 Calories; 28 g Protein; 36 g Tot Fat; 7 g Carb; 0 g Fiber; 1 g Sugar; 533 mg Sodium


200 Comments Add yours

  1. JustMarci (Marci from BE) says:

    Ohhhh…linda…yours look much prettier than mine 🙂 Yours almost look like flat kaiser roll! Mine puffed up more…we’ll see what happens overnight…

  2. Amy says:

    I have seen this recipe so many times and have fought the urge to make it! I just didn’t think it could be good! Your pictures make me want to try it. If they are good the next day, I will try it!

  3. Deb says:

    OMG, your photos are gorgeous!! Gotta try this asap!! lol~! I am thinking using the onion & chive cream cheese instead of the plain!! OMG, then add garlic, OMG. I can see these could become an obsession!! lol!

    Thanks Linda!
    YOU ROCK!
    HUGS! D

  4. Cynthi says:

    I;m almost brave enough to try these. Yours look beautiful….how could we get them to taste yeasty?
    You are the best Linda…without you teaching me to plan and cook…My family and I would starve !

    1. Linda says:

      I’m with ya, doll…love me some yeast bread!!
      These are so easy and I’m going to do some more experimenting with them…I’ll try a little yeast because I’d really like them to be puffier, too….stay tuned!

      1. Teresa says:

        Hello,
        Did you ever get to try these with the yeast?

        1. Linda says:

          I have not …and to tell the truth I forgot I mentioned that! Thanks for the reminder!

    2. Willie says:

      To make them taste “yeasty” add some nutritional yeast to the egg/cream cheese mixture before folding in the egg whites. I used one tablespoon… Delish with a hunk of butter!

      1. Linda says:

        YUM!!! I have some nutritional yeast – I’ll have to try this!!

  5. Ana (odonnela from BE) says:

    I can’t believe how much this looks like a kaiser roll!!
    I am really going to have to finally try this one.

  6. CaSaundra says:

    So neat! I have never heard of a bread with no flour, but hey, I am willing to give everything a try!

  7. TakeTheCake says:

    Okey dokey. You’ve got me now. Even though I am a low carber, I don’t love, miss, or crave bread. But these look so close to baking and I am envisioning them sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. (whey low actually) as a dessert. I have all I need for once too! Thanks a bunch! You are a miracle worker.

  8. Beyond Bariatric says:

    I’m not at all surprised that this works. This is an adaptation of a classic French recipe. I make a recipe very similar with bleu cheese.

    1. Linda says:

      I’d LOVE that recipe!!

      1. Michelle says:

        Soooo what IS that recipe anyway? Curious!

  9. I don’t have a recipe for no flour bread, but I do have one for low carb/high protein bread which is made with vital wheat gluten (no white or wheat flour).

    This looks like a cloud, but resemble a pancake more than a bread to me. Still, they look tasty. 🙂

  10. NewLife0311 says:

    Thanks Linda for the pics! I made some Saturday and then yesterday for my birthday I used these as FRENCH TOAST!! OMG! They were wonderful!!

    1. Linda says:

      I SO want to try as French Toast…glad to know they work well!!
      I’m going to try bread pudding tomorrow. I’ll keep you posted!

  11. Amy says:

    OOOOOOOOH…..I will be anxiously awaiting your results with french toast and bread pudding! I miss bread pudding!

  12. Tammy says:

    Linda – if the cream cheese needs to be cold, isn’t that really difficult to get smooth with the beaters? I want to try it this weekend – looks like great hamburger buns for that Greek recipe you just posted!

    1. Linda says:

      I don’t know why cold is better – the original poster stated that and I followed her directions…but it does work great. I bet anything room temp would be fine and I’ll try it next time.

      The reduced fat is softer than regular and beating it first helps smooth it out. THEN beat in the egg yolks.

      I’ve not had a problem with it clumping!

  13. JustMarci (Marci from BE) says:

    Has anyone tried to double the recipe in one batch? will it work do you think?

    1. Linda says:

      It would work, as long as you have enough room in your oven to bake them right away…sitting they will lose their fluffiness.

      I tried to spread it out into a 10×15 inch pan and it was WAY too thin…so a double batch in that would be perfect.

    2. Dtandmt says:

      I tried doubling the recipe… It wasn’t the best idea… By the time I got to the last few puddles, the whipped egg whites were becoming runny…

  14. Leeci says:

    For the last year, I have seen this (or a similar recipe) and have been too afraid to ever try it! But yours look good! I can’t wait to see the results of the other things you try with it like the french toast and bread pudding! Please post the recipes! I just recently found your website, and even though I am just 5 weeks out from my RNY, I am just waiting to try your recipes! Thanks so much for doing this for all of us!!

    1. Linda says:

      Congratulations on your new LIFE!! You are in for a very exciting year.

      Welcome to my site, and I hope you find some new recipes that you and those you feed love!

  15. Brenda says:

    Hello Linda

    ALL your recipes are absolutely fantastic and easy to follow.

    I was wondering if you ever plan to make a book or do you have your recipes in a PDF format for printing so I can put them all in a binder?

    Thanks!

    Brenda

    1. Linda says:

      I would LOVE to do a book, and hopefully someday that will happen!

      I’m afraid they aren’t in a format for printing…I just copy and put them into a Word doc and do it that way.

      1. Lilliana says:

        I will be one of the first to buy one!!! Can’t wait for you to publish!

  16. Di says:

    These are lovely! I am picturing them topped with a spinach-artichoke spread….chicken salad….even made up as a BLT! I am making these tomorrow! THANKS!

  17. Nan says:

    Wondering if extra batter could be used to make a full sheet (foccocia style)? Then adding oregano, garlic, rosemary, thyme.

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, it could…

      I tried to spread this onto a 10×15 inch sheet and it wasn’t enough batter. It only covered 2/3 of the sheet and was too thin. If I did it with a SINGLE batch I’d put it in an 9×9 or 10×10 into pan and that would be perfect.

      Adding the seasonings to the top or IN the batter would both be great!

  18. Deb says:

    Wondering if using WheyLow would work?

    1. Linda says:

      It would…the sweetener is just to give it SOME sort of flavor!!

  19. Kellie mjsmomx2 from BE says:

    Linda-
    What do you think about putting it in a loaf pan? Do you think it would work? If it did, I think you would have to be careful cutting it. You would have to use a knife like for an angel food cake.

    1. Linda says:

      I keep wanting to try it, but am having too much fun making those gorgeous rounds!

      It would be VERY airy and soft…and would probably need to be chilled for a couple days.

      I’ve got a batch in the oven right this minute that I used sour cream in instead of cream cheese. Can’t wait to taste them!

  20. purrectlydevine from BE says:

    Help! Mine look like brown edge cookies; very thin with a darker brown edge and the middles look paler than yours. I beat the whites for 6 minutes in a glass bowl with clean beaters. Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong?

    1. Linda says:

      I’m sorry you’re having so much trouble with these, dolly…they are so good, I want you to love them!

      Could have over-beaten the whites…did they stay puffy and nice when you folded them into the yolk mixture? It is a really fine line between enough beating and too much.

      Are you baking them at 300? I have to measure the temp in my oven because it’s 25 degrees TOO hot. That could make a big difference.

  21. Nan says:

    Mine came out flat and smell funny. No taste.

    1. Linda says:

      I’m sorry they didn’t work for you…

      They are not full of flavor, that’s true. They are basically simply meringues…which isn’t any too tasty, either!

  22. Nan says:

    It was the smell that I could not get past, sort of like wet dog.

  23. Very interesting, this looks like bread. I bet it tastes great!

  24. Rhonda says:

    Linda,

    I made these all the time when I was on Atkins for a year. I loved them and used them for sandwich rolls. They were always best with the cream cheese. My favorite was with onion powder mixed in and dried diced onion and parmesan on top. Tasted like an onion roll! I did find they could be picky though – exact same recipe sometimes turned out great, other times too eggy and moist. I had hoped to get a cinnamon roll type roll using splenda and cinnamon but they never had much taste when sweet. Your recipes are GREAT and maybe you can play around with it and find a way to fix that problem too!

    Thanks for sharing all your great recipes!

  25. Monica says:

    I have fallen in love with these. They are so easy! So far I’ve only done savory, usually adding garlic powder, paprika, pepper, oregano – I’ve also done a rosemary one that turned out fantastic. Reminiscent of focaccia, since they were nice and puffy that time. I plan to make a chocolate version soon. Will report back 🙂

  26. Patti says:

    made these today with the cream cheese….oh my they are great@!! cant wait to experiment with different spices and herbs. yummm

  27. Tracy says:

    I made these this afternoon. Just before portioning them into the pan, I added about 2 Tablespoons of chopped raisins and cranberries. Then I mixed 2 pkts of splenda (fiber) and about a teaspoon of Cinnamon and swirled that through the batter after they were portioned into the pan.

    I baked 30 minutes as directed and they came out PERFECT!
    I topped them with a tablespoon of splenda sweetened cream cheese as “frosting”.

    Cinnamon Raisin Buns!!!!!! YOU ROCK!

    1. Linda says:

      WOW does that sound good!
      Cream cheese and cranberries have to be two foods of the Gods!!

      1. Tracy says:

        ok..another secret. Meringues don’t have to be bland.
        I make a fantastic Banana Walnut meringue (using splenda and LorAnn banana flavoring and chopped walnuts).
        I think the LorAnn flavorings would work in these too…and they have a flavor called Cinnamon Roll. I’m going to try it.
        By the way, I toasted one of the Cinnamon Raisin Cloud Bread thingies this morning and then split it and spread it with sugar free Peanut butter and Sugar free Grape jelly. I haven’t had a PB & J in FOREVER, and it reallly hit the spot!

        P.S. watch them close, they toast up really fast

  28. Crystal says:

    Thanks Linda! I made smaller ones of these last night and topped off with some bbq pork…. little mini bbq pork sammies hit the spot!

    And I had been craving a ham and cheese sammich and that totally hit the spot as well. I think next time I’ll use my muffin top tin to help make sure they’re all even…apparently I’m not good at eyeballing as some were much thicker than others.

  29. purrectlydevine from BE says:

    Crystal must be reading my mind. I have a pan that is called a mini tart pan with 6 cups that are wider and shallower that a cupcake pan and I was thinking of using that to see if it improved my results.

  30. kbrier1 says:

    Hi, Linda!
    After 8 months I finally tried this – fantastic. I wanted to add that I had a scoop of batter left after I made my batch (got to figure out the sizing!) and decided to experiment. So I put it into a single serving baking dish and microwaved on high for 1 minute. It was great! Like a soufle at first, but as it cooled, it became like a soft roll. Can’t wait to try more variations.

  31. Robbie says:

    Just made my first batch, like everyone else I am so excited about this recipe! Mine turned out great but I think I will portion my batter next time with a small measuring cup for uniformity. Linda thank you so much for your time and efforts, I really hope you are able to write a cookbook, you are incredibly talented. Thank you.

  32. wls.princess says:

    First time I saw (and tried) this recipe was in the original Atkins book in the early 70s. This is a vast improvement with the cream cheese instead of cottage cheese. Yum! But hey – now we can make real “sliders” !! Or cream cheese stuffed cinnamon bread. So many possibilities and so little time! Thanks Linda for reviving this!

  33. Catinka says:

    Can these be frozen, or will they go limp?

    1. Linda says:

      They can be frozen. I would wrap them individually tightly with plastic wrap. They will be soft like they are before you freeze them, but shouldn’t get soggy. I’ve also kept them in the fridge for at least a week – if you think you’d use them that fast!

  34. Pam says:

    I was sooo excited when I found the recipe for cloud bread today! Well, something horribly wrong happened, I’m not sure what I did. I used cottage cheese instead of cream cheese. They absolutely looked nothing like the picture and I couldn’t get a bite down. What could I have done wrong? I’m definately trying again and again until I get it right!
    Any tips would be appreciated!
    Pam

  35. jan says:

    I made some last night, and they turned out so well. I used low fat cream cheese and it worked perfectly. I am going to try the recipe again using greek yogurt. Thanks for the recipe!

  36. Linda says:

    Hot damn!! This is good stuff! I made this recipe tonight and was amazed at how good it is! It fluffed up good and high and browned nicely. It will be great buns for hamburgers… or ANY sandwich for that matter. I cannot have wheat and this is just the ticket for me! I’ve looked for years and years for bread I could eat that wasn’t either so dry it chocked me, or so dense it vied for a spot in my back yard brick wall! Thank you EVER so much for this wonderful bread!

  37. Kerry says:

    I love to put sugar free syrup on these and heat them in the microwave for a few seconds, they taste just like sour dough pancakes. I have used mayonnaise in place of the cream cheese and they were fantastic.

    1. Linda says:

      Awesome! I never thought of treating them like pancakes, but they certainly could be!! And the mayonnaise idea is great, too. Will definitely try it as I’m a mayo fanatic!

      I’m glad you loved them!

  38. Nesreen Mills says:

    Would this work with full fat cream cheese and regular splenda? I don’t have any granulated splenda!

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, this would work with full fat cream cheese and the splenda in the packets. I know the packs are a lot more concentrated than the granular, so it wouldn’t be nearly as much. It’s just to bring out the flavors, not for any actual sweetness to the bread itself…so probably a half pack or so.

      1. Nesreen Mills says:

        Thank you! I look forward to trying them!

  39. Mandy says:

    This is Oopsie bread. The creator of this recipe would scoff at the name change. It is a fabulous holder for panini sandwiches etc. They firm up quite a bit if you put them in an air tight container to use as stuffing, french toast etc.

    Her website is : Your lighter side. She has a TON of flourless amazing things like pizza, “bread sticks” cheese curls. Like WOW for someone like me who is flour free

    1. Linda says:

      I am forever grateful to WHOEVER came up with these little sweeties…thankfully, I did not claim to have created them myself! (And those breadsticks look to die for!)

    2. Theresa says:

      these weren’t created by your lighter side, even though, like you, i love her site. they have been around for decades, they were an atkins-followiing creation. Oopsie bread was a take off on that, when someone accidentally made a mistake making them and they still came out good. they have been floating around the internet for a very long time, with lots of variations.

      1. Theresa says:

        Atkins called them Revolution rolls, so the name has changed as well. 🙂 just a little bit of low carb history.

  40. Vikki says:

    I made these today without a hand mixer and did it by hand and it came out pretty good, they are a little flat but tasty!!!! Even my kids tried a bite and they liked it!!!

  41. Nobody says:

    Yeah…everyone wants to try it from the photo…but I came looking for something that is functional and tastes good…OK…passable as a pseudo sandwich. Got any I’ve eaten it comments?

  42. If you don’t want to use it as bread, what would you eat it with? I’m an avid bread maker, and cam across this recipe on Pinterest. I’m VERY interested, but want to know what I would eat it with before I try it =]

  43. CJ says:

    MMmmmm!! I just made this, with a couple of changes. I am dairy intolerant (as well as wheat), so I replaced the cream with pureed pumpkin. I doubled the salt, and left the sugar out. I also used a good shake or two of onion powder in the batter. I dumped the batter into 4 ‘buns’, baked for around 30 min. They are so pretty, and even though they’re thin, they are still fluffy and perfect for sandwich bread! I’m going to try using pureed butternut squash next!

  44. jennifer says:

    tried these, a little disappointed, just tasted like baked eggs, but I guess essentially that’s all they are

  45. itsme says:

    Same here, it was just like baked eggs?
    Looks like the picture of the outside, but nothing like the pictures you took from the inside?

  46. Does anyone know if you could use either liquid stevia concentrate, or granulated stevia (truvia). I would like to try it with a healthier sweetener.

  47. I’m making these right now and they are in the oven. Already they do not look as round as yours and have kind of merged into one flat mess.

  48. Lori says:

    Made these today and they were great, but wonder how to store them. I placed in plastic bag and they stuck together. How can I store and have them stay drier?

    1. Purrfectlydevine says:

      Maybe putting them in a plastic container with waxed paper between the layers will work.

  49. Jennifer says:

    I’d also like to know if you can use a healthier sweetener. Does anyone know?

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, you can. Regular sugar, honey, agave, stevia…whatever you like!

    2. Lori Johansen says:

      I’ve used Stevia or no sweetener at all. Works either way.

  50. Miranda says:

    Could this be made without the egg yolks?

    1. Lori says:

      I think they’d be needed for both moisture and binding. Without them you’d pretty much have merangue (sp?)…dry and chalk-like.

  51. ive tried this twice today. the inside of the bread is watery and spongelike rather than a bread consistency. and the egg whites wont stiffen. I dont know what I am doing wrong 😦

    1. Lori says:

      You have to be sure you’ve whipped the egg mixture until it’s very stiff and then gently fold the two bowls of ingredients together (a bit at a time, not all at once). One thing I find helps is working with the eggs at room temperature versus straight out of the fridge.

    2. Deb says:

      The eggs need to be room temp to stiffen. Maybe you’re beating them cold? Stick the whole egg in the shell in a cup of warm, not hot, water for a minute or two.

  52. Jane says:

    I tried these last night and had made an egg salad sandwich with the cloud bread and so loved the taste. Will make again.

  53. brittany says:

    worked wonderfully, used soy-free veganaise instead of cream cheese, and liquid stevia, looks like your did, thanks im so happy!

  54. Lydiam says:

    I’ve made these a couple of times now with regular sugar and the fat-free cream cheese. They come out wonderful every time. I think the trick is to make sure the whites are beaten well, until they are very stiff. An electric mixer makes this much easier. Also, he first time they came out a bit more moist than in the picture above, turns out I just needed to leave them in the oven a bit longer than 30 minutes, problem fixed.

    Today I’m trying them with sour cream for the fist time, they are in the oven at the moment, and so far everything looks good.

    Thanks so much for this recipe!

    1. Lori says:

      I’ve never used sour cream or cream cheese. I love how they turn out with cottage cheese. The little bits of cheese are great for the texture! 🙂

  55. Kristen says:

    Oh my, a bread recipe that’s gluten free that actually looks appealing!? I’m so excited, I’m gonna have to try to make these this weekend 😀 Yours look so yummy!

  56. Sue says:

    I use baking soda instead of cream of tartar, and it really helps with making it taste like bread. Love this recipe!

    1. Sue says:

      Oops! That should read baking powder……sheesh!

    2. Lori says:

      I wondered about that. I thought cream of tartar just acted as a thickening agent…I’m making some tomorrow, so will try the baking powder. Same measurement?

      1. Sue says:

        I use a bit more than the recipe calls for. The baking powder makes all the difference in flavor and aroma….at least to me. 🙂

        1. Lori says:

          I’ll give it a go!

  57. Lou says:

    Not sure calorie count is correct. 2 eggs = 160 + 3 oz cream cheese = 180 so total is 340

  58. Lou says:

    Oops. That was 3 eggs so 420 is total. If you use sour cream it would be less also

  59. Christina Long says:

    I have a question and I am sorry if you answered if previously. Can I use stevia instead of Splenda? Has anyone tried it? Thank you 🙂

    1. Linda says:

      I think that would work fine. The Splenda adds nothing to the structure, so the Stevia should be the same. Let us know!!

    2. Lori says:

      Have used Stevia without any problems.

  60. Michelle says:

    I love this idea and will try tomorrow. My biggest concern is that so many people are using chemical sweetners and yet they feel they are somehow healthier. Please don’t use anything that doesn’t come from nature. Splenda isn’t real food. It’s a dangerous chemical that the FDA claims is safe. Same with aspartame. Truth is, none of these are safe. You’re better off with a touch of honey or maple syrup than any chemical.

    1. Lori says:

      Stevia? I don’t use sweeteners in this most of the time. Don’t think it really needs it.

  61. Rachel says:

    I made these today using the cream cheese. They came out perfect. Not really sure of what to expect I sprinkled cinnamon on two, pizza seasoning on two and sea salt on two. They seem super versatile. I’ll certainly make them again. I enjoyed the cinnamon one with a little melted cheese on top.

    1. Lori says:

      Great for hamburger buns, tacos, etc…Make them often. 🙂

  62. Kim says:

    Ok… what? I made these exactly to the recipe. Ugh. Very sticky. Soft and eggy. HELP.

    1. Lori says:

      They are mainly egg….so there are some “tricks” to making and storing them. I freeze immediately after cooling…in plastic bags, so none of them touch. When I want a burger, I just take two out, place on a paper plate and add my goodies just prior to consuming. After a long diet, these are great! Experiment with flavors and try the other suggestions offered here for texture. I like cottage cheese best…seem to make them a bit firmer and I like the little white “cheese” bits!

  63. Sarah says:

    I had tried this before… But the eggy smell just gets to me.. i feel its just like eating an over-cooked, dry, fluffy omelette

  64. Barb M. says:

    I’ve made 6 batches over the past few months for my diabetic hubby, and I’ve had NO failures or even probs. I’ve used all low fat cream cheese & also 2 oz. cream cheese + 1 Tbsp. thick yogurt. I use a 6 hole whoopie pie or muffin top pan I found at a thrift store & each single batch makes 3 sandwiches, all round & even. They are not scrumptious yeast buns of course, but I had one & they’re not bad at all even plain. Butter flavored spray on the pan helps.

    My hubby is VERY happy to have homemade sausage, ham, bacon or Canadian bacon “McMuffins” again! A pack of wafer sliced corned beef and swiss makes a Reuben flavored sandwich & he eats burgers on them. I use a Hamilton Beach breakfast sandwich maker to do several at a time (fit perfectly), then wrap & store in fridge. Haven’t tried freezing (anyone tried?), and he warms up either a homemade veggie/meat omelet or McMuffin every a.m. when he gets up way earlier than me! His cholesterol is good, so the eggs don’t faze him–he ends up with 2 a day. I plan to try a single batch as a pizza crust soon as he misses it so much.

    He’s lost over 50 pounds in a year, lowered his blood sugar a lot & we’re in our mid 60’s–so old dogs learning new tricks! I also have a low carb bread recipe I use in a bread machine as I can’t knead dough any more (not this low carb though) that he has occasionally for toast or with stews.

    Keep trying folks! Follow directions exactly, measure, and maybe check oven temp. I’m not a super chef. Sorry for long post but wanted to share & help!

    1. Linda says:

      Thank you so much for your reply and for so many delish ideas to try! I’m glad your hubby loves them…makes life so much easier when we can EAT!!

    2. Nellie Hawk says:

      Barb M: Wonderful post. Just what I needed. A replacement for bread. Made them tonight for 1st time. Plan on using many ways as you said. I am diabetic also and looking for a way to have my bread….and eat it…without it being bread. Thank you so much Barb. Nellie in Green Bay

      1. Barb M. (mybluecottagegarden) on Pinterest says:

        Nellie, Glad you could use the hints–it really helps to have some form of bread when you haven’t been able to. You can find the low carb loaf bread recipe I use in my bread machine (or it can be made by hand) by searching Gabi’s Low Carb Bread on Google, then going to the listing by Low Carb Yum who has I think tweaked the original a little. It’s 3.8 gr. of carbs per slice so less than 7 for a sandwich and is real bread.

        Has a lot of varied flours and such, and they aren’t real cheap to buy them the first time, but then they make many loaves and I’ve only had to buy more of one item to keep going. Some are available at regular grocery stores & Walmart for less cost than the health food stores. It really does rise just like the photo shows, I’ve had no failures in about 5 loaves now, and it has a kind of nutty different taste, but good–best toasted. When he’s after a grilled cheese or other sandwich, something to go with a thick soup, or toast with a traditional breakfast that is different from the cloud bread, it’s great!

  65. Barb M. (mybluecottagegarden) on Pinterest says:

    Thank YOU for posting this wonderful solution to the no bread crisis around here! All those words, and I forgot to thank you! Everyone else–keep trying as they do work and they are good! Don’t forget when calculating calories and etc. to divide the total number of pieces you made from the entire recipe into the nutritional info numbers. The info is for the entire recipe–NOT the individual pieces. The six I make are pretty large–you could make more pieces from it on a cookie sheet to get less calories, etc. per piece.

  66. jelleykat says:

    Hi Linda, thanks for posting this recipe. Been low-carb on & off for 20 years and never heard of it before. Wondering if you ever got around trying a chocolate version? It was the first thing I thought of when I saw the recipe; but wondering if adding cocoa powder would make them drier or require extra egg or…

    1. Linda says:

      Oh! I haven’t tried that…in fact forgot all about it! I think a tablespoon of cocoa powder would be fine without changing the texture too much. If it needed more, then a little more liquid of some sort (almond milk, regular milk…just a drizzle or so) would be great. If you try them, let me know!!

      1. Becca says:

        How about just adding a small amount of mini choc chips to the batter

  67. jelleykat says:

    Thanx for the quick response! I first need to master the basic recipe…i made them too large, but they were so good. I topped them with coconut milk choc. mousse & whipped coconut milk, yum.
    I often have something similar for breakfast, my favorite comfort food. In my
    family we call it a fluffy omelette. Just separated eggs, beaten separately, folded together, like a souffle. No other ingredients, just eggs. Cooked on stovetop, a little undercooked in the middle. Topped with sweetener. (powdered sugar when I was little). When I am pms-ing, and having crazy intense chocolate cravings, I have considered adding cocoa powder to my fluffy omelette, but haven’t yet, because: 1) if it doesn’t work, I won’t have anything for breakfast (due to health issues, cooking something else isn’t gonna happen) 2) don’t really want to waste the eggs.
    That’s how I ended up here! Looking for a chocolate version…So I guess I will try it myself. At least with cloud bread, I am not making it.for breakfast, so won’t be left hungry if it comes out wrong. And I keep thinking: eggs, cream cheese, chocolate; what can go wrong!?!
    So, will be trying soon (when & if I can find reasonably priced eggs!) and will let you know.

    1. Linda says:

      I’ve recently gotten into making whipped “cream” with coconut milk and LOVE IT!! And your version of a sweet omelet type thingy sounds delish! And I agree…with chocolate, it’s gotta be good!

  68. billy says:

    looks good as a coeliac i am going to try this recipe thanks bill

  69. Angel says:

    its not bad. tastes alot like eggs though. My son wants to eat them in the morning between his toast.

  70. ethalfrida says:

    These look wonderful but I don’t do ny sweeteners unless they are natural. How can the recipe be adapted to use cane sugar?

    1. Linda says:

      Cane sugar will work just fine…should measure exactly the same,also!

      1. ethalfrida says:

        Thanks bunches. Can’t wait to make your recipe.

  71. Linda says:

    Made this exactly as the recipe states except no sweetener. They came out beautiful! Stored them in a zip lock bag and the next day they were soggy ans awful. What did I do wrong?

    1. Marianne says:

      This is what happened to me. They came out PERFECT last night so I placed them in the baggie before bed (they were completely cooled) and now they are soggy and the tops transfer to my fingertips when I touch them. I have had this happen to cupcakes as well. It is humid here, btw. How can I stop this from occurring. I was so let down : ( I left the bag open today but I know from cupcake experience, it doesn’t help.

      1. Linda says:

        Hmmmm…where I am (Seattle) they do get soft, but not soggy. I have to keep them in the fridge, though, or they mold quickly. Some have suggested freezing them individually as soon as they cool, and then toasting to thaw…might be worth a shot.

  72. Tina Howell says:

    When I first read this recipe, I was like, what? The more I read it the endless possibilities started flooding my mind with different healthy ingredients. My first batch was a success, so now that I know how to make this, it will be a weekly snack. I am going to sprinkle fresh rosemary and some chopped sun dried tomatoes on my next batch, when they come out I’ll brush some olive oil on top. This is a delicious alternative to bread, which I love, love love!!!

  73. Leigh says:

    Do you have to store them over night or can u just put them in an airtight container for a few hours?

    1. Linda says:

      These are best eaten the same day, after cooled. But to store them it does need to be airtight and possibly in the fridge, as they do get moldy fairly quickly. I’VE not tried freezing them…maybe some one else has experience with that?

    2. Lori says:

      Because of the egg content, I never let them sit out. They sort of get “wet” and aren’t great. What I do is freeze four in a large zip bag and then fold the bag in half so they don’t touch each other. When I want a burger or sandwich, I take two out, lay them on a paper plate to thaw and use. YUM!

  74. Kim says:

    Can you use regular sugar instead of Splenda?

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, you can, Kim!

    2. Lori says:

      I rarely even use Splenda or Truvia…doesn’t change the taste at all, to me.

  75. Shene says:

    I froze my bread and it turned out just fine. I individually wrapped each one in plastic wrap and then place them in a freezer bag. I toasted my bread in a toaster oven when I removed them. I am unsure of how they will turn out if I let them thaw on their own.

    1. Lori says:

      I just take out one or two (depending upon what I’m using them for) and place (outside of bag) on a paper plate to thaw. Works great!

  76. Susan says:

    I have not tried this recipe yet, but I just had to say that I am amazed (and ever so grateful) that you put in the time to reply to everyone’s posts. And, for the posts too. It’s very informative. So, thanks for the recipes and all the comments from you and your followers.

    1. Linda says:

      Well, thank you for coming here and I hope you find something that you love to make again and again!

  77. Frances says:

    I like coffee and toast but have to stop the bread consumption do you think that this would be good with my coffee for breakfast ?

    1. Lori says:

      I’ve never toasted mine, however many people do and say it’s quite good.

  78. Barb M. says:

    Frances, We think they’re good toasted but watch them closely in the toaster as they toast very quickly. If you like peanut butter toast in the a.m or for a snack, the powdered peanut butter called PB2 is actually quite good. You mix 2 tbsp. with 1 tbsp. of water & it has a really good peanut taste with only 5 gr. carbs, 1.5 gr. fat and 2 gr. of fiber. It’s available at Walmart & other grocery stores. The cloud breads are good toasted with oleo or butter on them too.

    As I said in Feb.–they make excellent “Egg McMuffins” too–my diabetic hubby missed them so much. He’s now lost over 80 pounds with low carb diet, no surgery, and has kept it off. He’s gone down from 48″ pants to 38″ ones and blood sugars of 250-280 down to a daily 130 or under.

    Also–to Linda, from awhile ago, about them getting wet and nasty after putting in plastic bag overnight–I store ours in Tupperware cake taker single layer or two layers set in for as much air space as possible, with wax paper between if I make a double batch. I usually make sandwiches or freeze the next day. They need a few hours or over night to soften and not be more like buns.

    Thanks, Barb and Roy

  79. Karen says:

    I just made these …… OMG …… I found my new “bread”!!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe with all of us. I even forgot to add the salt and sweetener, it still tasted amazing!! I will try different flavors now I have done this one.

    1. Linda says:

      Yay, Karen!! I’m glad you loved them. Yes, let us know what flavors you make and give some inspiration!

  80. Barbara Petrini says:

    Just wanted to mention if you want it to taste “bready” add a tablespoon of Nutrional Yeast and put sesame seeds on the top prior to baking. That’s how I do them and they are slammin!

    1. Linda says:

      THANK YOU, Barbara!! I would have never thought of adding the nutritional yeast!

      1. Barbara Petrini says:

        You’re most welcome! I’m making a batch right now! 😀

  81. Beth Littlefield says:

    I’m dairy sensitive. How much coconut milk or almond milk should I use as sub for cream cheese? Could I use fruit like apple sauce or bananas as the thick part instead of cream cheese?

    1. Linda says:

      Hmmmm…I think it would have to be something that isn’t liquidy or the mixture will be too thin. A banana might work, but I’m really not sure. If you can find the non-dairy sour cream (Tofutti brand is really good) that would work.

    2. Deb says:

      This is the recipe I use because my grand son can’t have dairy:.

      http://www.foodbymars.com/home/2016/easy-cloud-bread-without-cream-cheese-lactose-free-grain-free-low-carb

      Works great every time.

  82. Jeannie says:

    Just made these—added a bit of garlic powder a little shredded cheese and a little parmesean cheese. I despise eggs—–these do not have an egg taste at all. They turned out just like the photo. Thanks for sharing. Definitely a good add for a low carb diet.

    1. Jeannie says:

      meant to also note that they taste great!!

  83. Ashley says:

    Can i use organic raw sugar instead of Splenda or is that too heavy?

    1. Linda says:

      That should work fine, as long as it dissolves! And some people don’t use any sweetener and like them that way, too.

  84. Erminda Ayers says:

    I have made this three times in the last two weeks. I love to snack. I have made this in one large sheet. I added fat free ranch dip to the eggs. Than I took low fat cream cheese and mix fat free ranch together and spread on top of the large sheet of baked eggs. Than added fat free cheese (cheddar or mozzarella) Cut up, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, and green onions. (I put black olives but do not have too) This to great and very low in calories. I use to use crescent rolls and with this recipe have took over 500 calories off the recipe. Thanks a bunch for the recipes and all your tips.

    1. Linda says:

      That sounds really, REALLY good!!

  85. carol says:

    I made these for the first time and was not able to use all the batter because by the time I scooped out 5 blobs the rest of the batter just got too runny. What did I do wrong?

  86. Marilyn Thompson says:

    I made these this morning but I used greek yogurt in place of the cream cheese and OMG these are soooooo good. After the 30 minutes of baking I turned the oven off and let them sit for 5-10 minutes and they were not wet inside just soft and fluffy…thank you for sharing!

  87. Roberta Mettepenningen says:

    Just made these and they were yummy! We’re only a week into our low carb diet and were really missing bread. My husband had 3 … one with splenda and cinnamon after our meal and said it was the first time in a week that he felt full. Thank You!!! Can’t wait to experiment with these little pillows of goodness. . Also going to follow you on Pinterest. .. your recipes look delish!!

    1. Linda says:

      I’m so glad hubby loved them…that’s a big battle won, right there!! Let me know any variations you try – always looking for new ideas!!

  88. karekorn78 says:

    If you have pure essential oils (not from the grocery store), you can add them to the batter to mix up the flavor (i.e., not all oils can be used in cooking – they have to be completely free of any contaminants and 100% pure). I have some variations of essential oils that are good for this recipe: rosemary oil, basil oil, or basil oil with garlic powder, cinnamon oil (with some sugar on top!), cumin oil. I was thinking even a half drop of cilantro oil – and then use them as taco shells?

  89. Sandra Coats says:

    Hi, I tried the recipe but they did not come out like the picture. I used substitute eggs. The whites would not stiffen no matter how long I beat them.
    Any suggestions?

    1. Linda says:

      The pasteurized egg whites, such as Eggbeaters, don’t like to whip up into meringue. Something about the heating process destroys their ability to do so. So sorry that it was a flop for you! If you don’t want to waste the yolks form regular eggs, it’s possible to find 100% pure egg whites that aren’t pasteurized and without additives. Not sure where exactly – maybe Whole Foods?

  90. Stephanie A. says:

    Greetings,I would like to know if you can fry this cloud bread instead of baking,would it hold up? I would be happy to bake it,I am unable to use a oven at this time. Thank you

    1. Linda says:

      Hi, Stephanie!
      I’m not sure…although I do have a lemon ricotta pancake on here that is a meringue type thing and they fry nicely. It might be worth a shot!

  91. alison christie says:

    made these the other day but didnt come out like the photos dont what i did wrong

  92. loial humajk says:

    I made these today using the cream cheese. They came out perfect. Not really sure of what to expect I sprinkled cinnamon on two, pizza seasoning on two and sea salt on two. They seem super versatile.

    1. Linda says:

      Thank you for sharing! I haven’t made them in forever – but the pizza seasoning sounds really good today for some reason!

Leave a comment