A must for Holiday baking. YES! It’s that time of year!

BLOG41SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK

No-Sugar-Added

I don’t know how many times I’ve looked at a luscious recipe with adoration, only to discover that it’s main ingredient is sweetened condensed milk.  AKKKK

In the weight-loss surgery lifestyle there is no room for so much sugar – or in a diabetics meal-plan, or for those who just don’t want the sugar-coma that comes from eating it!

Recipes for homemade are all over and it’s very easy to make it no sugar added.  (It will never be sugar free…simply because there is lactose (milk sugar) in the milk powder.  But that is fine…those hit our system slowly and shouldn’t cause a problem.)

This recipe makes just barely shy of a standard can of the gorgeous stuff…so use it in any recipe calling for the real-deal and you’ll be just fine.

~~~~

.

.

1/3 cup + 2 tablespoons boiling water

4 tablespoons butter, softened

3/4 cup Splenda Granular or Whey Low Powdered

1 cup powdered nonfat milk (dry) *see note

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

.

In a small bowl beat with an electric mixer the water, butter, Splenda, milk powder, and vanilla.

This is best if you use it right away because it gets very thick as it sits.  You can store it in the fridge and gently reheat to bring to pouring consistency.  If it’s still too thick add a tablespoon or so of boiling water.

Per TABLESPOON:  Calories 25; Protein 1 g, Fat 1 g, Carbs 1 g, Fiber 0 g, Sodium 25 mg

.

**I use a generic brand (Walmart’s Great Value) of dry milk powder and it always works great.  However when I used the Milkman brand (in an orange box) it was way too thick…and got THICKER when I microwaved it to make it thinner!!

Blog77!

58 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelly says:

    Looks delicious and like a great switch. Is there an advantage to using powdered milk over fresh. I’m wondering how many calories this comes out to as I LOVE vietnamese coffees (which include sweetened condensed milk) but they are so calorie rich due to all the sugar. Perhaps making this homemade would be a healthier switch. Must investigate!

    1. Linda says:

      Sorry about that! I will add the nutritional stats to the recipe. There are approx 61 calories in a tablespoon of the Real-Deal SCM…so this is quite a bit lower.
      Using the powdered milk gives it the thickness like the real thing. Adding sugar/splenda to fresh milk wouldn’t do that automatically. You’d have to cook it down.

  2. Tummywise says:

    This is great. They stopped producing sweetened condensed milk here and I do love it with my coffee.. Will definitely be giving this recipe a try when I can. Thanks for your post!

  3. Nina says:

    Great post! What recipes have you subbed your homemade SCM for the real one? Just wondering if you notice any difference in texture or consistency before I try it out on key lime pie, dulce de leche, etc. Thanks!

    1. Linda says:

      I have done the key lime pie/mousse with it and it’s really great. Maybe a slight bit more grainy, but not much. I’ll give you my recipe – it’s not a baked one, but still very tart and yum! (Will be posting it on the blog soon.)

      KEY LIME

      1 recipe SCM
      1/2 cup key lime juice
      Grated zest of two limes
      3 cups Splenda-sweetened whipped cream

      Whip the SCM, lime juice, and zest until well combined. Fold in whipped cream. Place in a crust or chill as mousse.

  4. Nicole says:

    this is a very nice alternative to sweetened condense milk! What a nice idea!

  5. Vicky says:

    The pictures alone make me want to make some. Now I need to look up Vietnamese Coffee. I know I love Thai Iced Tea.

  6. Kelly says:

    Thanks for the follow up. That makes sense. I figured you had to reduce the milk down and this sounds like it would be a time savor. I happen to have a lot of dry milk on hand (something I keep accidently buying since I’m convinced I don’t have it for baking) so I’ll have to try this.

    Vicky – Vietnamese Coffee is basically just drip coffee with sweetened condensed milk but it is absolutely heavenly.

  7. stephchows says:

    oh wow!!! this is great! I’m always not making recipes that call for the stuff. I’m totally going to have to try this 🙂

  8. Freddie Summers says:

    Hey Linda!

    Love the pictures!!! Love the recipe! Visiting your website always make my day so much nicer.

    Thank you!
    Freddie

  9. GENIUS! I will try to make some but omit the artificial sweetener and use stevia drops…but would that offset the thickness? I am not familiar with how Splenda behaves with liquids…

    1. Linda says:

      You know…I’m not sure. Splenda does dissolve down to practically nothingness, so it may be worth a shot. At the very least you’d have made a good ‘creamer’, I suppose!!

  10. Tammy says:

    What about Whey Low in the place of the Splenda?

    1. Linda says:

      You could…if you’d rather. And that would give the ‘sticky-er’ factor that the real-deal has, Splenda kind of lacks.

      I would probably use the powdered, since that would be sure and make it very smooth.

  11. CaSaundra says:

    I always avoid recipes with Sweet Condensed Milk as well, which sometimes limits recipes–but now thanks to you I can try this–brilliant!

  12. Kathe says:

    Linda,
    Have you made the 7 layer bars with this? Did you have to sub out anything else in the recipe?

    1. Linda says:

      I have, actually.
      Used the sugar free chocolate chips from Hershey’s. (Walmart has them right now during the Holiday season…stock up!) It wasn’t quite as sticky, so they were almost crumbly, but I think I would reduce the graham crumbs a bit and that would help. Overall, very good and definitely a keeper.

  13. Kathe says:

    I also just thought about a fudge recipe I have that uses SCM. Could I use the SF choc chips for choc.? I don’t know if there is a SF peanut butter chip or even SF white choc. chips?

    This is the only fudge I have made and would love to be able to offer it again at Christmas.

    1. Linda says:

      The sugar free chocolate ones melt really well. My favorite sugar free chocolate is the Valor – but it usually needs to be ordered.

      I haven’t made fudge with the SCM – it might be worth a shot. If it doesn’t set up you could and more milk or cream and serve it as a fruit dip, I guess!

      I have not seen sf peanut butter or white choc chips. Hopefully some day!

  14. Tammy says:

    Made this over the weekend for the first time. I used it to pour over Ree Drummond’s Monkey Muffins – not exactly WLS friendly, but with the use of Whey Low Gold and your SCM, it’s certainly better for me now! Mine came out way too thin, so next time, I’m gonna add the boiling water in smaller increments until I get the consistency I’m looking for. The taste was great, though, and I did use the Whey Low Powdered to make it. Thank you!

  15. Betty says:

    Have you tried making fudge w/ this? Do you know if its possible.

    1. Linda says:

      I haven’t tried that…but it sounds to die for!

      I don’t know why it wouldn’t work, as this does get very thick and rich. If all else fails and it doesn’t set up hard enough it would be a WONDERFUL hot fudge sauce!!

  16. Leslie says:

    Have you considered this recipe with dry buttermilk and tried it in any ice cream recipes?

    1. Lindaa says:

      I haven’t tried this with buttermilk powder, but that would be interesting!

      Ice cream sounds wonderful, for sure. I have used this in the key pie recipe that calls for SCM and it works really well!

  17. sue says:

    hi linda i have a question, could you use the demera sugar in this in stead of splenda? would i use the same amount? thank you i’m very excited to try!!!!

    1. Linda says:

      I’ve not worked with the demera sugar, but I think it would work okay…as long as it melted completely and didn’t stay grainy. Maybe dissolving it in the boiling water would be the best bet.
      It will give the milk a more golden color and slightly different taste, but I bet it would be yummy!! Worth a shot, definitely!

    2. Candice says:

      Demera sugar is still sugar and effects the blook sugar the smell way as the processed. You might as well use the caned stuff.

  18. AH says:

    You rock my world. As a diabetic, I am always looking for ways to satisfy my sweet tooth without consuming too much sugar. I stumbled across your recipes via pinterest (specifically the 35 second chocolate mug cake…OMG yummy!) and have loved every inch of your blog. Thanks, and I can’t wait to try your lemon and white velvet mug cake versions!

  19. Grammiex8 says:

    Could you use Swerve instead of the Splenda?

    1. Linda says:

      Since Spenda doesn’t contribute to the thickness or consistency of this, I think the Swerve would be fine…and it measures the same, so no problem there. Let me know if you try it, please!!

      1. Grammiex8 says:

        Will do, thanks for your prompt response!!!

  20. Joanna says:

    You stated that it should be used right away as it gets thicker upon sitting. I want to use it to make sugar free flavored coffee creamer which of course would need to get refrigerated. It will be cut with milk but do you think it will be ok to use this recipe?

    1. Linda says:

      I think it would work perfectly for the creamer. Just shake it before each use, in case it settles. What a great idea with so many syrup flavors to choose from!!

  21. Barbarainnc says:

    Store the SCM in the refrigerator ??

    1. Linda says:

      Yes! It will get very thick, but a couple seconds in the microwave will make it pourable again!

  22. Jonathan says:

    Have you tried making dulce de leche from this recipe with success? I was thinking dulce de leche (zucchini) brownies would be to die for!

    1. Linda says:

      I haven’t, but that would be interesting to try! Like cooking the can of Eagle Brand til it’s thick and fabulous…worth a shot!!

  23. Sarah says:

    That looks absolutely beautiful! But I avoid powdered milk since it is a carcinogen 😦

  24. Lorie Marez says:

    Can you exchange dry coconut milk for the regular? Your milk has 12g sugar where coconut milk has none?

    1. Lorie Marez says:

      Hi, thank you for this recipe! I had gbs in 2006, now cant eat sugar, lactose etc. I want to try this but i thought maybe im gonna try coconut milk. Has ANYONE:
      tried to exchange dry coconut milk for the regular? Your milk has 12g sugar where coconut milk has none?

      1. Linda says:

        I’m not sure, Lorie…but it would be worth a try. I’ve not seen the dry coconut milk…where do you find it. I LOVE the stuff in the can, but having dry would be so useful, too!

  25. simone says:

    can I use coconut oil for the butter? And whey vanilla protein for the splenda and milk powder?

    1. Linda says:

      I haven’t tried either one of those subs, so can’t say for sure that it will turn out. I think the coconut oil would work fine, though. The pro powder will give it a distinct taste that won’t be like the canned stuff…and I’m not positive about the texture. Maybe make a half batch and see how that works out? Sorry I couldn’t be more help with this!

  26. Candice says:

    Could you substitute Truvia or Stevia extraCT for the splenda?

    1. Linda says:

      I think the Truvia (the one that is measure for measure) would work fine. Not sure about drops.

  27. Vicky says:

    Have you, or do you know of anyone who has used Erythritol and Splenda powder together to replace sugar? Can they be used together?

    1. Linda says:

      I haven’t tried it, no…so sorry!

  28. Vicky says:

    Do you know of any problems combing Splenda with a sugar alcohol?

  29. Vicky says:

    *combining

    1. Linda says:

      I don’t think there are any down sides to combining them. In fact there is a sweetener that DOES that. https://www.amazon.com/Natural-Mate-Sweetener-Sucralose-Erythritol/dp/B00FLD3X28
      In this recipe it should be fine.
      I’m not sure how it would work in baked goods – typically I don’t use Splenda in cookies/quick breads/cakes because it doesn’t give the same texture (for instance it’s next to impossible to “cream” Splenda and butter – you simply can’t get the same fluffiness.) However erythritol, apparently, has almost the same properties as sugar, so it works better in baked goods. Now, cheesecakes and other moist desserts like custard, puddings, pies,
      etc…Splenda works great.

      1. Vicky says:

        Thank you Linda! I’m new to all this so any information is greatly appreciated!

  30. Mary says:

    Hi Linda…I’ve got a question and was hoping you might be able to answer it for me. I’ve followed JoAnna Lund recipes for the past 15 years but have never been able to make her Sweetened Condensed milk as it always comes out solid! Not thick and pour-able like the can version. She has passed on and I can not just email her for help so I’m seeking out someone that makes it basically like she did. This is her recipe:

    1/2 cup water
    1 1/3 cups nonfat dry milk
    1/2 cup Splenda

    Per her instructions you mix the water and the dry milk and heat in 2 cup measuring cup for 45-60 seconds in the microwave covered. Then stir in the Splenda and cover and refrigerate until cool before adding to your recipes. I’ve tried 30 seconds, 45, 60 and just this am, I tried almost a full minute. It was better this am, wasn’t so solid I needed a knife to cut it out of the cup but still super thick…definitely not pour-able or even would be easy to stir into the recipe. Right now, I have this recipe in the refrigerator plus the addition of the vanilla. Am I thinking wrong that it would be really, really thick or if something else completely wrong with what I’m doing.

    1. Linda says:

      Hi, Mary!
      This is a **note that I had put on the bottom of the recipe. Should help, I hope!

      “**I use a generic brand (Walmart’s Great Value) of dry milk powder and it always works great. However when I used the Milkman brand (in an orange box) it was way too thick…and got THICKER when I microwaved it to make it thinner!!”

  31. Jaymi says:

    I have a question. Can you cook this and turn it into caramel sauce like you can regular sweetened condensed milk?

    1. Linda says:

      Well, shoot! I looked through the comments to see if someone did this and came across a time I said I’d like to try it! I haven’t yet, but I think it might work. If you used the Splenda brown-sugar blend (although it does contain real sugar) it would work. I still want to try it with the regular splenda granular.

Leave a comment