Pie in a glass!

BLOG

PUMPKIN PROTEIN SHAKE

This has been, by far, my most popular shake recipe.  It’s thick, rich, and  just fabulous!  Perfect for the Autumn time of year…brings your favorite Fall dessert right into your high-protein plan!  Try it hot – or with an espresso shot or instant coffee crystals added – wow.

This has enough calories and is so filling that it’s definitely a ‘meal’, so plan accordingly.  (Disregard the GIANT pile of whipped cream!  I just beautified it for the photo…yeah…that’s it…)

~~~~

.

.

3/4 cup fat free milk OR soy milk OR almond milk
1/4 cup fat-free half & half  (OR skip and use 1 cup milk of choice)
1 rounded scoop vanilla protein powder
1/4 rounded cup pure pumpkin puree
1/4 cup frozen whipped topping, thawed or frozen…doesn’t matter!
2-3 tablespoons Splenda Granular – to taste
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice  (or 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon each ginger and cloves)
6 ice cubes, optional – I love it without the ice, too…makes it more rich and filling, to me

In a blender combine the milk/soymilk/almondmilk, half & half, protein powder, pumpkin, whipped topping, Splenda, spices, and ice cubes, if using.  Process until smooth and thick.  Serve with a sprinkle of cinnamon on top.  Makes one serving.

Per Serving: Calories 300; Protein 35 g; Tot Fat 5 g; NET Carb 20 g; (Fiber 2 g) ; Sugar 6 g; Sodium 279 mg

42 Comments Add yours

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    GORGEOUS presentation with the whipped topping & cinnamon!

    1. Vanessa says:

      Now this is the way to drink protein!!! Thanks Linda, you have made eating fun again!

  2. i love pumpkin and i love protein. i wonder if the 1/4 c. frozen whipped topping is important?, because i ususallly don’t have it on hand. i have vanilla yogurt, maybe i’ll try that. thanks for the GREAT idea.

    1. Linda says:

      That would work great…will be a little more tangy, but GOOD!

  3. Mimi says:

    Sounds fantastic. I am glad on stumble onto your blog from food gawker.
    Mimi

  4. Gianni says:

    Great recipe!

    I have cinnamon flavored protein powder and will try it with that.

  5. TakeTheCake says:

    I have made this so many times I never even look at the recipe anymore. One of the BEST protein shakes for fall… I promise!

  6. I just saw this on Healthy Yum and wanted to eat my computer! It looks so good!

  7. oneordinaryday says:

    Looks delicious!

  8. Amy says:

    This sounds amazing! 🙂

  9. k says:

    why WOULDN’T anyone put whipped cream on it? its the whipped cream that makes it or breaks it@! and its soo good too

  10. Debby (Debado) says:

    This is so perfect for this time of year. Sure beats the temptation of a Startbuck’s Pumpkin Latte!

  11. peanutbutterfingers says:

    yum, yum, yum! i love pumpkin & always try to incorporate more protein into my diet. love this recipe!

  12. Rachelle says:

    This is one of my favorite shakes to have. Delectable.
    It’s like having dessert.

  13. Pingback: Spice-spice, Baby!
  14. Rhonda says:

    Linda, I just tried your the pumpkin shake and it is San Fran Tastic! Thank you, TY, ty.

  15. OMG. Looks amazingly delicious. Such luscious photography too! I’ve tried my shakes with MimicCreme Unsweetened (nondairy cream substitute) and it’s so rich and creamy.

    1. Linda says:

      I have never tried the MimicCreme…will definitely look into it. Thanks for the tip!!

  16. Ami says:

    YUM! I subbed greek yogurt for the whipped topping to add some more protein and it was scrumptious!

    Thanks!

  17. amyrene says:

    I just made this for the first time. WOW. So yummy. Definitely making this again and again!

  18. It’s the middle of August… im already scouring store shelves for canned pumpkin. LORD HELP ME and November get here SOON!!!!!

  19. Becky says:

    What type of protein powder did you use for this? I used body fortress(140 cal/24g. pro per scoop) and with everything else the calories totaled 300. Despite the higher calorie amount it was delicious!

    1. Linda says:

      THANK YOU!! I use the calorie calculating program AccuChef and when I went back and looked it had left out the milk/cream. I’m so sorry about that!

      I’ve corrected this on the post! (Thankfully I still lost a lot of weight including this in my plan!!)

  20. Heather says:

    Hi Linda! Your blog is fabulous! I found it via Pinterest & was totally inspired to re-create your Pumpkin Protein Shake for my girls. Sadly, I didn’t have some of the ingredients on hand so I had to modify the recipe but if it weren’t for your post here I don’t think I would’ve even considered putting pumpkin in a shake for my little pumpkins. 🙂 I blogged about it here: http://www.pinfluence.com/2011/11/23/3-ingredient-pumpkin-milkshake/

  21. Vanesa says:

    Is this one serving?

    1. Linda says:

      Yes, this is one serving as a MEAL. Sometimes I will have just this for breakfast and nothing else!

  22. Vanesa says:

    I thought it might be two servings…:) I could not finish it and had the rest the next morning…so yummy!

  23. Tanja says:

    Hey, I’m new to running a blog and websites in general and was curious about how you got the “www” included in your web address name? I see your domain, “https://eatingwelllivingthin.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/pie-in-a-glass/” has the www and my domain looks like, “http://mydomain.com”. Do you know just how I can alter this? I’m using
    Wordpress. Thank you so much

  24. Kelly says:

    this looks really good – I love pumpkin!.

  25. Heidi says:

    It says low carb, but how low carb is low carb?

  26. Newbie says:

    This is my first time on this website and I keeping “Bookmarking” Links because there are so many good reads on here! And I love, love, love Pumpkin! Thank you very much.

    One question…I have been wanting to try protein powders but I don’t know where to begin because there are so many to choose from. Does anyone have a brand in mind that they particularly like? Are some healthier than others? Thanks for any input!

    1. Linda says:

      For a first time user of protein powders – that CAN be a little hard to take if they are too “proteiny” – some of my favorites are from Syntrax. They have excellent Vanilla Bean and Chocolate, but also some fruity (more juice-type) that are wonderful. They even have an unflavored one that is so great in soup where it dissolves and doesn’t change the taste.

      For mere selection of flavors, Dymatize Elite is amazing. Their chocolate mint…SO GOOD in coffee!

      These are just two of the huge variety of pro powders out there. For what it’s worth, I usually never have a plain shake (meaning water and powder), but go for recipe-type drinks. I have several posted on here!

Leave a comment