Just one Oatmeal Cookie…no flour!

“JUST ONE” OATMEAL COOKIE

Snack attack?  Urgent Sweet tooth?  Need a quick cup-of-coffee-partner?  Whatever the need or whenever it rises here’s a fast treat that won’t have you battling a full cookie jar!  

If oatmeal isn’t your thing, you’ll find my “Just One” Peanut Butter Cookie HERE!  (And if you want a larger batch…ingredient amounts are below!)

~~~~

 

.

1 teaspoon melted butter

1 1/2 teaspoon egg beaters or whipped regular egg

1 1/2 tablespoons oatmeal – Old-fashioned or Quick (Quick works best)

2 teaspoons Splenda Granular

Pinch of salt

Pinch of cinnamon

Drop of vanilla

.

Mix all ingredients well and drop on a cookie sheet and flatten slightly. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. (Toaster oven work-out time, here!)

Per Cookie: 69 Calories; 3 g Protein; 5 g Tot Fat; 3 g NET Carb; (2 g Fiber); 0 g Sugar; 41 mg Sodium

.

TO MAKE A WHOLE BATCH:

1/3 cup melted butter

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon baking powder

1 egg OR 1/4 cup Egg Beaters

2/3 cup Whey Low Gold or Splenda Granular (or brown sugar if you can have it)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

1 1/3 cup oatmeal, Old-fashioned or Quick (Quick holds together better)

Raisins, chocolate chips, chopped nuts – optional

Mix all ingredients.  Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes.  Make into 16 cookies (to use the stats above).

48 Comments Add yours

  1. AmyRene says:

    Yum but..I have to ask..can you post how to make a whole batch? Pretty please?

    1. Linda says:

      Done!!

  2. Mm, they look delicious! I am always on the lookout for new recipes for cookies without flour since I have a colleague at work who is severely allergic to flour. I’ll give them a try! Heather

  3. Mirya says:

    Linda, this looks like just the thing. Thank you. Now, how about a gingersnap.

  4. AmyRene says:

    Yay! I love you 🙂

  5. T2Nashville says:

    Made the whole batch tonight. Who could eat just one? Mine came out a bit crumbly – probably because of the pecans I added – but still delish! And I can use the crumbles for granola on my yogurt. Mmmm….

  6. HnB4life says:

    I have another recipe that I have posted on my blog that is low GI if made with carob powder instead of cocoa powder and no flour-they are my version of chocolate no-bake cookies. I share this recipe every chance I get because it is such a great option to have when you are wanting something sweet 🙂
    http://healthynbalanced.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/healthified-chocolate-no-bake-cookies/

  7. lily says:

    I just made this and it’s soooo great. I loved it, the perfect little cookie, and I didn’t have to worry about eating 10 more cookies I don’t need! I added a few chocolate chips that I had left over from xmas cooking, and it was yums! Thank you!!!

  8. mandy says:

    oh…these sound wonderful…will definitely give them a try real soon…my kids love anzac biscuits so they will love these…xxx

  9. Jan says:

    Yum… I made these tonight; I didn’t have any oatmeal in the house…so substituted with flaked Quinoa! I also lowered the sugar substitute to 1/4 cup (Stevia) and upped the cinnamon a bit as I was adding walnuts, not chocolate chips.

    These are so good and easy to make!

  10. Leigh Ann says:

    Oh, my, gosh!! I am so excited. I love, love, love baked goods and the ability to make just one cookie will save me a lot of grief. And sometimes I want something a little sweet and don’t want to take the effort to make a whole batch (which occasionally means I won’t eat any sweets, but usually means I wind up eating something worse. Someone’s link to your quinoa burgers led me here (can’t wait to try them, btw) and since I’m working hard to plan healthy meals and lose weight and I love cooking delicious food I am tickled to have found such a fantastic blog. Thank you so much!

    1. Val says:

      Leigh Ann –
      I haven’t seen the quinoa burgers. Did you make them? Were they good?

      1. Leigh Ann says:

        Oh, Val, they were SO good! Like most other non-beef based “burgers” I’ve tried, they weren’t much like burgers, but yummy yummy yummy! I ate them on those thin sandwich rounds with a dab of ranch dressing. I keep meaning to make them again, and not getting around to it, but maybe I’ll do it tomorrow!

  11. Bronte says:

    Looks delicious! Do you have a substitute for the splenda? I don’t want to use any sugar and sweeteners (splenda, stevia, honey, etc). Would mashed banana work?

  12. Bonnie says:

    Mmm this looks so good! Typed into my search engine: “oatmeal cookies, no flour”, and this came up!

    My batch of 6 are currently in the oven- can’t wait to try it. Thank you!

  13. ak says:

    Loved the taste but the cookie completely fell apart. I still ate it with a fork and loved every bite! I did add chocolate chips.

  14. Doylemac says:

    Increased the cinammon and added some ground allspice (1/2 tsp each) and dried cranberries. Delish! Thanks for the recipe.

  15. Jennifer Jenrette says:

    oh my gosh, i just made two of these (I’m seeing a pattern with your recipes…me eating more than one!) and they were delicious! Used the toaster oven and it was so easy! I added a bit more oats because it seemed runny, and that was perfect. I loved the texture and flavor, and it definitely satisfied my sweet tooth! I also used Palm sugar instead of splenda, and just used a little less. So yummy. Thanks 🙂 My only issue is whether to make more since I have leftover egg!!!

  16. Kristy says:

    I added chocolate chips and a drizzle of honey to help hold it together, but it still didn’t work. The cookie crumbled to pieces, so I used it as granola instead, it was SO good. I also used 1 tbsp of cinnamon and brown sugar instead of splenda and no nuts.

  17. Kim says:

    Thank You for this recipe! I needed a chocolate fix so I added 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder and 1/4 cup cocoa powder turned out great. My kids love them so that’s a good thing 🙂

  18. Katie says:

    This is awesome! My mom is gluten intolerant, so cookies without flour is perfect! I’ll have to try this!

  19. Deb says:

    I tried these tonight and although the mixture is tasty, I will never use this recipe again. Sorry, but all I got was a mess of flattened out crumbly cookie-like substance almost glued to my cookie sheet (because of the sugar, of course). I will not throw it away, as the crumbs are tasty. It will probaby end up on a crumble of some sort. What a mess though.

  20. Lulu says:

    I just followed this recipe and I am really enjoying these moist, crumbly cookies. I played around with the sugar amount and added honey. Yummy!

  21. Sandra says:

    AMAZING! I loved it, the kids loved it, but i did change the oatmeal. I used a mixture if cinnamon and spice oatmeal and maple and brown sugar.

  22. kris says:

    Great! I put trail mix with raisins, chocolate candies and peanuts in it they were great!

  23. frank weir says:

    I just discovered your blog…grt recipes! I added 1 tablespoon of almond flour and a “smidgen” of xanthan gum and it held together wonderfully. Taste was excellent but a bit too sweet using splenda brown sugar baking blend. Will make a larger batch. Had a craving for oatmeal cookie and this was perfect. My low carb cookies tend to all taste the same so this was a nice flavor change. Oats are high carb but in this amt, doable. Thanks for all your blog efforts to help other people!!

  24. LP says:

    I love this recipe! My daughters and I are awaiting our dozen as I type. Bringing in the new year baking as a family.

  25. BJ says:

    These were fantastic. At first, I thought that they might turn out runny, but I did just as you said, and they turned out perfect. Crisp and sturdy, they didn’t even begin to fall apart. I did tap them down and they were perfect! Thank you so much. I have diabetes and want to continue to control it with diet. I used to be on meds, but now I have A1Cs in early to mid range 6s.
    Keep inventing!!!

  26. steinpr says:

    YOU ARE MY HERO!!! One cookie, yes. I’m so excited because if I make a batch I’ll eat them all…thank you!

  27. Linda says:

    Mine turned into a runny mess. I agree with Deb. I don’t know how I am going to get it off my cookie sheet. I guess I will scrape into a bowl. If bananas were
    added this might have been a cookie. A waste of ingredients.

  28. Saitaina says:

    Dry, near tasteless and crumbled into a pile of oat crumbs if you so much as looked at them. Will not make again.

  29. Ovendressed says:

    Why do some comments say they crumbles and some say they were perfect? what do you think the problem could be?

    1. Linda says:

      I’m not sure. It could be the humidity in certain places, maybe. I live in the Pacific Northwest…

  30. Alexa says:

    Hi, what do you mean by “1 1/2 tsp egg beaters??

    1. Linda says:

      Egg Beaters is a brand of liquid (already blended/beaten up) eggs. It’s made from egg whites, so it’s less calories, but works just like eggs. It’s found in the egg/cheese section of the grocery store. For this recipe, since we need so little, it’s easier than beating a whole egg and then just using part of it. The Egg Beaters last in the fridge for quite awhile, so there is no waste. Here’s a link with a photo and info:
      http://www.eggbeaters.com/egg-substitute-products/original

  31. Samantha says:

    I used Stevia and these turned out great! Thanks!

    1. Linda says:

      Thanks for the suggestion…good to know!!

  32. Jackie says:

    Just made these and they were absolutely wonderful. Mine were not crumbly at all. Just put all ingredients together , added a small amount of chocolate chips and flattened on a cookie sheet and viola!!!! Definitely will make these again.

    1. Linda says:

      I’m so glad you loved it, Jackie!! I haven’t made this recipe for a long time, but might have to. We’ve been so cold and wintery…a hot cookie sounds pretty great!

  33. Kerry says:

    I made this recipe because I thought I was out of flour, but I did manage to scrape together about 2/3 cup of flour, so I added that to this recipe along with another 1/8 tsp. of baking soda and some raisins. I baked them for 15 min and they turned out fabulous! I was worried that they would be too crumbly, but the flour made it stick together more and they turned out moist and well formed.

    1. Linda says:

      Thank you, Kerry! The raisins sound wonderful, too!

  34. anne says:

    Absolutely delicious, even tho i am like some of the other commenters where my cookies stuck to the parchment paper/pan and crumbled. But the flavor was absolutely stellar!!! Not sure if it helps to demystify why some people can bake them without it falling apart and some cant but i live in colorado. Maybe if i put them in the fridge first so that the brown sugar doesn’t run? not sure but seriously, if someone needs to make granola, this stuff is dang addictive! Best tasting stuff ever!!!

  35. Judi Robbins says:

    I’m a little confused about the butter…do you actually melt it or just soften it. Can anyone help me.

    1. Linda says:

      I melt it in a little custard cup or measuring cup and then mix the other ingredients into that!

  36. chi says:

    when you make a batch i’ve noticed the ingredients change a bit is it still 69 cal per cookie ?

    1. Linda says:

      IF you make them into 16 cookies. (I use the program Accuchef for my nutrition stats.) These are yummy!

  37. Mitsy says:

    Good recipe but can’t imagine it without adding the 2/3 cup flour as someone else said they did because as many indicated it would just be runny (at least with the rolled oats it is but perhaps with the Quick Oats it would be better. Also reduced the brown sugar as way too sweet for me.

Leave a comment