Just another meatloaf recipe…ho hum. NOT.

BLOG wm

CHILE TURKEY MEATLOAF

(For some reason this photo makes it look dry.  It is SOOOOOO not.)

Super-duper moist and flavorful – it’s my husbands favorite meatloaf EVER.  This was a half-hearted-throw-everything-in type meatloaf at the last minute for dinner but Hon raved about it so much I had to scramble to save a piece for a photo!

It stays very moist because of all the nutritious and colorful vegetables mixed in. Serve with salsa, avocados, and sour cream if desired. Great as leftovers, and it freezes wonderfully. (With turkey it is super low in calories, but ground beef would also work in this.)

For the family add a fresh green salad and a warm pan of Chile Cornbread (one box cornbread mix according to pkg directions, 2 tablespoons diced green chiles, 1 teaspoon Chili Mix seasoning, 1/4 cup shredded cheese.)

~~~~


.

.

2 tablespoons butter or olive oil
1 cup diced onions
2 cloves garlic
1 red pepper, diced
1/2 carrot shredded
3 1/2 teaspoons Penzey’s Chili 9000 or medium chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon sugar or Splenda
1/3 cup fresh cilantro or parsley, chopped
20 ounces ground turkey (mixed dark and white – stays more moist than all white)
3 tablespoons ketchup
1 egg
1 egg white
1/3 cup 2% milk
1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs
1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese
3 tablespoons salsa

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Coat a loaf pan with vegetable cooking spray and set aside.
In a large frying pan over medium heat add olive oil or butter. Saute the onion, garlic, pepper, and carrot until onion is soft. Add in chili mix, cumin, salt, black pepper, sugar/Splenda, and cilantro and cook for two minutes. Transfer mixture to a large bowl and gently mix in turkey, ketchup, egg, egg white, milk, bread crumbs, and cheese. Place in prepared pan; cover with salsa and bake for 55-60 minutes. Allow to rest 15 minutes before serving. Makes 8 servings.

(I usually do this in 3 mini loaf pans and bake for 30-40 minutes.  These freeze great, so I freeze two and Hon can eat one in a couple days, but no left-over burnout!)

Per Serving: 240 Calories; 18 g Protein; 14 g Tot Fat; 10g NET Carbs; (11 g Carb; 1 g Fiber); 4 g Sugar; 281 mg Sodium

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I made this last night – very good! I don’t see how you got 10 portions out of it, though. I figured 6, and only used half the oil so it was 250 calories per portion. Turned out fine with less oil. Very good flavor, thanks for the recipe!
    Oh, also, I accidentally put the salsa in the meatloaf instead of on it. Happy accident, I’d do it the same way again!

    1. Linda says:

      I’m glad you loved it…sorry about the serving sizes. I thought I’d changed it for ‘normal’ people!! The 10 servings are weight loss surgery servings!!

  2. jan says:

    Linda, I love you site. I couldn’t find an email link, I wanted permission to feature your Chile Turkey Meatloaf as my Healthy Recipe of the Day. I put it up, if there is a problem, lt me know. If you want the link to that site, just email me, I didn’t want to infringe on your blog by publishing it here.

    What a great site you have, and what an accomplishment. I’m in awe.

  3. jan says:

    oops, i meant to say i also told my readers about you on my daily blog – http://jansdailydish.blogspot.com – you can just delete this post, i just wanted you to be aware of the blog address.

  4. Ames says:

    I made your meatloaf last night, and it’s a huge hit! It has so much flavor, and is so easy to make! I accidentally left out the carrot, but it still turned out wonderfully. Thank you for making me like meatloaf again, I had despaired of ever thinking of it as more than a hunk of meat that needed tons of sauce to make it interesting!

Leave a comment