Golden, warm chowder – comfort in a bowl!

BLOGS

CHEESY CHICKEN & CAULIFLOWER CHOWDER

This is one of my most popular recipes and you’ll know why, if you make it!

Creamy, cheesy, full of good for you chicken and cauliflower – it’s quick and easy to get on the table.  Leftovers are even better! (Leave out the chicken, add more cauliflower, if you want a vegetarian version.)

Serve it with whole-grain rolls and a gorgeous, crisp green salad…when’s dinner?  I’ll be right over.

~~~~

.

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon butter
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
3 medium carrots, sliced
3 cups chopped cauliflower (use twice as much if not adding chicken)
Two 14-ounce cans, reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon Splenda or sugar
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon dried basil,  1/4 teaspoon dried tarragon

Kosher salt and black pepper
3 cups cubed cooked chicken
1/4 cup flour
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons reduced-fat cream cheese
4 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

In a large saucepan, sauté the garlic and onion in olive oil and butter until soft. Add carrots, cauliflower, broth, Splenda, nutmeg, basil, tarragon, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Add chicken and heat through. In a small bowl combine flour and milk until smooth. Add to chicken mixture. Bring to a boil and cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat. Add cream cheese and cheddar. Stir until melted.

Makes 8 servings.
Per Serving: Calories 222; Protein 22 g; Fat 9 g; NET Carbs 7 g; (Fiber 2 g); Sugar 4 g; Sodium 421 mg

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    Mom!

    How come I’ve never had this?? You KNOW I love cauliflower soup. Cauliflower anything, really. Yum!!

  2. Felicia B. says:

    UMMMMMMMM!!

  3. Janelle says:

    Ooooh…one of my favorites!!! I so love this recipe!

  4. LuAnn says:

    My whole family loves this recipe SO much, that there are never leftovers, unless I double the recipe, which I do!! SO good & very satisfying!

  5. tinamarie says:

    I made this for lunch today w/out the chicken, only because I didn’t have any.
    It was marvelous!
    Thank you for all your awesome recipes!!

  6. Julie says:

    I adore this recipe. I used leftover rotisserie chicken. It is just simply an amazing recipe. DELISH!

  7. I made this today with left over turkey from Thanksgiving. It was delicious!! Thank You!

  8. Sarah Graham says:

    So delicious! My whole family gobbled it up!

    1. Linda says:

      I’m so glad your family loved it, Sarah! One of our favorites around here, that’s for sure!

  9. Peggy says:

    This recipe looks awesome! I was reading the stats at the end and didn’t see fiber listed. Do you know what that number is? Thank you and I will make this soon!

  10. Adreane says:

    I LOVE your recipes! They all are so practical and NOT lacking flavor. Thanks for sharing! I pinned lots of your recipes tonight and will be making them this week!

  11. Sandy says:

    this is awesome soup/chowder! Even hubby like it and he isn’t that keen on cauliflower!! Definitely would repeat this recipe.

  12. Laura B. says:

    I just made this soup and it was fabulous!! I did omit the chicken since my daughter is doing more vegetarian dishes and it was great! For a little kick, I added 1/2 teaspoon creole seasoning, very tasty! I also used 1/4 tsp Stevia powder instead of Splenda. Very much a keeper recipe that…definitely will make again!! Thanks so much for the recipe!!

Leave a comment