Need to hide some veggies?

ZucchiniMeatloaf90wm

ZUCCHINI MEATLOAF

I grew a kiddo that wouldn’t eat anything green…and even this meatloaf might have been pushin’ it.  He was a super-duper veggie detective!

I bet most kids would eat this up, though.  And the zucchini keeps the meatloaf very moist. (I’ve also made this with the ground mixed light/dark turkey….SUPER!)

~~~~

 


Vegetable cooking spray

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup oatmeal, ground

1 cup shredded zucchini

1/3 cup finely diced onion

2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/8 teaspoon dry mustard powder

1 1/2 pounds ground chuck

1/2 cup marinara sauce

1 tablespoon grated Parmesan

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Coat a large loaf pan (or three mini loaf pans) or a large casserole dish with the vegetable cooking spray and set aside.

In a large bowl beat the egg with a fork.  Mix in milk and ground oatmeal and allow to rest for a few minutes.  To the egg mixture stir in the zucchini, onion, parsley, salt, pepper, basil, oregano, and mustard powder.  Add ground beef and gently combine.  Place in your prepared pan and press down slightly.  (Form into a loaf, but don’t pack the meat tightly, if using a casserole dish.)

In a small bowl combine the marinara sauce and Parmesan cheese.  Spread on top of meat.  Bake for 1-1 1/4 hours (35-40 minutes in mini pans) or until a meat thermometer registers 160 degrees.  Allow meatloaf to rest for about 5 minutes before slicing.  (This is very juicy from the zucchini and you may need to pour off the liquid in the pans.)  Makes 6 servings.

Per 6 Serving: 274 Cals; 25 g Protein; 9 g Tot Fat; 13 g Carb; 2 g Fiber; 2 g Sugar; 607 mg Sodium

12 Comments Add yours

  1. burpexcuzme says:

    This sounds gorgeous! I hated veggies as a kid…but if my mom had made this for me, I would have gotten my 5 servings of veg per day…prob more!

  2. Deseree says:

    Ohh this sounds delicious! I am a huge meatloaf and zucchini fan, I just have never tried them together. What a great idea, I bet the zucchini does keep this very moist.

  3. Kristen says:

    Oh my goodness… what a great recipe! I can’t wait to try this on my family.

  4. bobbygee says:

    All kids hate green stuff. When we get older everything goes south. Age. this looks really good.
    http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/

  5. julia says:

    This looks absolutely delicious! Zucchini in meatloaf, this just won me over!

  6. Dee says:

    Had to laugh at the comment of one that grew a kiddo that wouldn’t eat anything green. My mother-in-law grew a son that won’t eat anything green but green beans! I made sure he saw me put the parsley and oregano in the meatloaf but held the zucchini down in the sink and grated into a bowl and added it w/o him seeing. The meatloaf was very moist and very good. And eaten by my green veggie hating husband who said it was yummy. Yea!

    1. Linda says:

      HA!! Anything that works!!!

Leave a comment